Mix-Mix Any Kine

Halo-Halo

One of my favorite foods is halo-halo, mix-mix.  It is usually a combination of sweet beans, fresh coconut, shaved ice, coconut milk, and fruit.  It always depends on the maker, though.  It also depends on what you have on hand.  I never have fresh coconut on hand, so I have used jarred coconut.  There are manufacturers who jar ingredients specifically for halo-halo which can be found at Asian grocers.  I tend not to buy these much at all, even before changing my diet.  Simply because I just want them all in my halo-halo, which would make an insane amount I’d never be able to finish.

My aunties and grandmas all make it different.  One auntie makes tapioca pearls to go with it.  That’s always fun.  “Is it done yet?”  “No!”  “Is it done yet?”  “No!”  Meanwhile, she’s stirring, stirring, stirring over the pot at the stove.  Or she got someone else to stir for her.  If you want the halo-halo bad enough, you’ll take up stirring duties.  I promise you.

Another auntie and her mom make it from all natural ingredients that are on hand.  One time, me and auntie were making halo-halo from what Grandma had in the kitchen.  Mostly avocado and papaya.  Someone came in the kitchen and asked what we were making.

“Halo-Halo.” one of us answered.

“Avocado and papaya?”

“Yeah,” we both said in synch. “Mix-mix any kine!”

And that’s exactly what it can be.  The mix I made for the picture was a mix of what I had on hand and a few things I picked up at the store on my way home from work.  I meant to have adzuki beans ready for it, but I forgot to prepare them.  Adding the beans will give you a well-rounded dessert.  Fats, carbs, and protein!   Shaved ice makes this a great alternative to ice cream.  If ice cream is your thing, you can serve this over a scoop or two.

Halo-Halo

1 apple, cored, cut in 1/8ths and sliced

1 kiwi, peeled, halved, sliced

2 cups grapes, halved

1 mango, diced

1 avocado, diced

2 feijoa, peeled, halved, diced (feijoa are related to the guava)

1 can coconut milk, full fat or light

Make sure your coconut milk is mixed well.  Place all ingredients in a bowl and mix-mix!  Serve chilled.

2 comments

    • Sasha, it is really yummy! Most people have never heard of Filipino dishes because it’s not mainstreamed like Japanese, Chinese, Vietnamese, Korean, or Thai food. One of the food writers I know back home wrote an article on Filipino food once because some restaurants were finally opening. It’s not fancy food, it’s home cooking food, which is why there aren’t a ton of Filipino restaurants.


Leave a Reply

