I Scream. You Scream. We All Scream For Ice Cream.

Two scoops please!

I thought of ice cream for a raw recipe when I was trying to figure out what I wanted to do for my April in the Raw post.  I made this the day after I did the Raw Peppermint Mocha Truffle Cake.  I intended to share this in my post, too.  Then I decided, they were each deserving of their own posts.  Okay, really I just wanted that cake to be the star since it took me a couple of weeks to figure it all out.

I love ice cream.  I blame Granny.  She used to have ice cream all the time when I”d visit.  It was her one vice.  It was either chocolate or mint chocolate chip.  See?  In fact, we were trying to feed her some chocolate ice cream 2 days before she passed.  She was so out of it she didn’t know what we were trying to feed her until we told her it was her favorite.  Then recognition came over her and she cried a little.

Chaz loves ice cream, too.  So much so, that there is usually ice cream in the freezer.  If it lasts long enough from him bringing it home to make it to the freezer.  His “personal pints” rarely make it to the freezer.  Wave bye-bye.

Raw ice cream will not do with milk or even cream.  Besides, I’m not much of a milk or cream fan.  I  never liked drinking milk to begin with and my mother never forced me to drink it.  I drank a lot of water, ice tea (brewed, not those nasty mixes), and juice growing up.  All you mothers can get your shock and gasping out of the way.  I am perfectly healthy without milk.  The only dairy I care for is ice cream, cheese, and butter.  I don’t eat a lot of any of those either.  Still perfectly healthy.  The last time I had x-rays done, the orthopedist said my bones looked great.  Well, except for the fracture that was in my right ankle.  Ah, the side effects of martial arts.  And no, I didn’t have a lot of broken bones despite all the falls I’ve had through my life.  One fractured right elbow.  One fractured left ankle.  That’s it.  Oh, and no, no calcium supplement either.  Much to the dismay of former doctors and chiropractors.

Mango Coconut Ice Cream

I made Shirley’s Tomato Rosemary Mint Ice Cream last year.   That was my jumping off point when I started thinking about ice cream.

I wanted something tropical to remind me of home.  I found some ripe mangoes at the store.  Mangoes and coconut are amazing together.  If you didn’t know that already.  I could eat fresh mango and fresh coconut mixed together for dessert.

My first batch didn’t turn out so well.  It was even grayish in color.  Not sure how that happened.  It solidified, too.  Thankfully, I took a little out before it became a solid to taste it.  Chaz didn’t think it was sweet enough.  Not salty enough.  Not spicy enough.  Not sweet enough.  See a theme in our kitchen?  You learn to live with it.

I made it again after washing out the ice cream maker and letting it freeze for another 24 hours.  Second time was perfection.   I’ve decided it’s time to try to make chocolate cinnamon ice cream again.  That ice cream maker is going to get more use than it has since I bought it.

Mango Coconut Ice Cream

1 -2 Mangoes, diced and divided in half

2 cans full fat coconut milk, chilled

1/2 cup raw local honey (or other sweetener of your choice)

In a food processor, process the coconut milk, half the diced mangoes, and honey/sweetener until smooth.  Pour into a prepared ice cream maker (I freeze mine for 24 hours).  Let it run for at least 20 minutes.  Add the remainder of the mangoes and run for 5 more minutes.  Cover your ice cream maker bowl and freeze for at least 6 hours.

This post is linked to Slightly Indulgent Tuesday.

5 comments

    • Carrie, it will be worth it. Especially if you get a good deal on one. I happened to find mine on sale at a Williams-Sonoma outlet while in Virginia visiting a friend for the Virginia Wine Fest and Maryland Renn Fest. Great weekend and the great deals I found at the outlet topped it all off. lol

  1. First, how did you know I needed this recipe? Like I said on FB, I’ve got a case of newly ripe mangos. Can’t wait to make this, Debi!

    And I’d get really upset about you being in VA without me knowing IF I didn’t know that I’d meet you in a few weeks!

    xo,
    Shirley

    • Oh Shirley, I miss the days of getting an armful of free mangoes from friends with trees. It hurts me every time I buy them. I always think, “If I were back home, I wouldn’t have to buy these.” I hope you like it! I absolutely loved it!

      Well, my friend still lives in VA and I keep planning on visiting her again during Renn Fest season, but something always comes up. Gotta get some use from my wench costume! 😀 So, if I do end up making it one year, we’ll have to get together. 😀


Leave a Reply

