Sometimes, I Hit Perfection

Quelle suprise!

I was reminded about cooking fish in parchment paper while reading a magazine article on ways to add flavor to your food.  Even though I see it used all the time on cooking shows I always forget about it.  It’s been years since I cooked fish en papillote.

I attempted to use a folded heart-shaped parchment paper, but I had too much stuff for it.  I had to star all over and just cut big rectangles, then fold them in half.

What I love about this method of cooking fish, is it turns out flavorful and the fish is like butter in your mouth.  It’s also super easy and fast.

I spent very little time on prep.  The Asparagus was chopped into 3 segments.  Grape tomatoes were cut in half.  Part of a red onion half was sliced thin.  The cod was cut.  Voila.

I asked Chaz after he finished his plate how it was since he said I don’t give him enough time to savor the food before I ask.  He says, “Inedible.”  I said something about him finishing his plate and he said he was taking pity on me.  I should mention that I started eating before him and he finished his plate before I did.

The finished product

Cod en Papillote

1 cod fillet, cut into 3 or 4 portions depending on size

1 bunch asparagus, ends trimmed and cut into 3 sections

1/2 pint grape tomatoes, halved

6-8 thin slices of half a red onion

Spinach

Grapeseed oil (or other oil)

Brown rice vinegar

salt

pepper

3-4 pieces of parchment paper

Preheat oven to 350.  Fold each piece of parchment paper in half.  Place one slice of red onion on one half of each piece of parchment paper.  Place each piece of fish on the red onion slices. Add asparagus, tomatoes, and spinach to the parchment around the fish.  Add the last remaining slices of red onion to the tops of the fish.  Season with salt and pepper.  Add a little drizzle of oil and vinegar to each serving.  Fold the other half of the parchment paper over the servings and fold the edges together several times (if you have room enough) of the side across from the fold.  Fold the remaining ends several times.  Take each corner and give it a twist or two to help keep the parchment from opening.  Place on a baking sheet and bake for 10-15 minutes depending on the size of your fish and portions – I did 15 minutes.  Let the packages rest on the pan when you take it out of the oven for a few minutes.  Transfer the packages to a plate and serve unopened.  Tear open the packages from the middle.  This will prevent the juices from leaking out.

A side of wild rice pilaf

I served the cod with a side of wild rice pilaf.

Wild Rice Pilaf

3/4 cup wild rice pilaf mix

1 cup gluten-free chicken broth

1/2 cup water

salt, optional

Add all ingredients to a small pot.  Bring to a boil, then turn simmer with the cover on the pot until the rice absorbs the liquid.  Take the pot off the heat and give it a little stir, then re-cover.  Let it sit for a few minutes before serving.

This post is linked to Amy Green’s Slightly Indulgent Tuesday at Simply Sugar and Gluten-Free.

7 comments

  1. I haven’t cooked fish using parchment paper yet either, but it always looks and sounds amazing, as does yours! Must do this soon as we love fish and I like getting in all the veggies at the same time, plus hubby goes nuts for rice pilaf. 🙂

    xo,
    Shirley

    • Shirley, it was an awesome dinner and leftover lunch. It left me wanting more! I’m fixing fish taco salad this Friday and I think I’ll be fixing the fish in the parchment paper again. Makes me wonder why I haven’t done it for so long. LOL

    • Shu Han, I happened to look at your blog before I read the whole comment. I love that herbed butter. I pretty much do the same to make garlic butter. 🙂 I will have to remember that for the next time I want to make it with a little butter instead. 😀


Leave a Reply

