Sugar Scrub

 

Mixing up the scrub

 

While I’m working on developing some recipes I figured I’d share some more of my aromatherapy arsenal.

How many of you spend a bunch of money on brand name exfoliation products?  Heck, even generic products can be expensive.  Chances are, you have at least one ingredient in your pantry that you can use.  Sugar.

I like to mix mine with vegetable glycerin that I buy from Camden Grey.  I buy most of my stock for my personal care products/aromatherapy from Camden Grey.  If you decide to use them, let them know I referred you when you check out. 😀

You can use equal parts sugar and vegetable glycerin with some essential oils.  Sometimes I’ll use a 2 to 1 sugar to glycerin ratio.  Depends on how I feel.  I use about 10 drops per 2 tablespoons of sugar.  The sugar and glycerin tend to separate when you store it.  I’m sure I could find a way to emulsify the two so the sugar stays suspended, but I I like keeping it simple and I don’t mind give it a little mix with my finger when I’m ready to use it.

 

The finished product

 

I use the sugar scrub about 3 times per week after washing my face.  Just enough to cover the first third of my finger.  My face always feels refreshed and invigorated when I’m done.

For this scrub I made for the pictures, I used a lavender synergistic blend I keep premixed.  How can I have a lavender blend?  I used several different types of lavender.  Yes, like fruits and vegetables, there is more than one type of lavender.  I have several synergistic blends I keep premixed.  My lavender and Heavenly blends are my favorites to use.  Granny loved my Citrus Pick Me up blend.  Stick loves my Orange Blossom blend.  Auntie C loves my Heavenly blend.  Auntie J loves my Rose Bushes & Lavender Fields Blend.  My mother-in-law loves my Sandal Patch blend.  If you’re wondering, I am planning on using the blends to mess around with perfuming.  🙂   The key to using essential oils with your products when you are just using them for scenting is to use the ones that make you smile when you inhale.  Yes, you must inhale.  It’s good for you.  Trust me on this.

Let me explain synergistic blends real quick for those of you who just read the above paragraph and feel a little lost.  Synergistic blends are simply a mix of different pure essential oils blended before diluting them in a carrier such as oil, soap, lotion or glycerin.  Blending them before using them in a product or even in an aromatherapy diffuser gives them time to work together for a bigger punch.  This is especially helpful when you are using essential oils for the sole purpose of aromatherapy.  The best way to blend them is to add them together in an bottle (like I have pictured above), cap it, then roll it between your palms.  Essential oils have different weights so if you hold it up while doing this you can see them swirling and blending together.  If rolling it doesn’t feel enough to you, turn it upside down once when your done, then upright it.  Easy.  Simple.  Done.

Back to the scrub.  There is another exfoliation product that I love to use, but I can’t take credit for it because I got it from a YouTube video that Bunny showed me.  It’s an aspirin mask.  Simple and cheap.  Uncoated aspirin, a few drops of water, and some honey.  That is all, folks.

Happy exfoliating!

2 comments

  1. Pingback: Gluten Is Not Just In Your Food « Hunter's Lyonesse

  2. Pingback: Chatterbox | Chocolate Wasteland


Leave a Reply

