Stress Reliever. Had To Be Done.

 

A Daily Ritual

 

There was a time when I would just scream at the top of my lungs, right where I sat or stood, then say to those around me, “Stress reliever.  Had to be done.”  This would get me some nasty looks.  If only they knew that it really kept me from punching anyone close to me.  Since then, I’ve learned some better coping skills.

I developed a daily ritual after I started working retail back in November.  Relaxing in a bubble bath (with or without my homemade blend of bath salts with a book and my iPod on running on shuffle.  No, that martini in the picture isn’t really part of the ritual.  It’s Shirley Braden’s POM-Bom-Spice-Tini that I’ve been meaning to make for weeks.  I thought it would add a little whimsy to the picture and it gave me an excuse to finally make it and try it.  It was good, but pretty strong.  I think if I make it again I’m going to use less Bombora vodka, which is pretty good and clean.  I used it to make a Screwdriver after I first bought it and it was probably the best Screwdriver I’ve had.

 

My current book

 

Back to the bubble bath.  I really look forward to this time.  It’s a great way to decompress after a long day at work or in preparation for a long night at work.

I enjoy the time so much that I’ve gotten caught up in a book that I can’t put down that once I look at the clock and I had been in the tub for an hour.  Yes, the water was getting cold.

 

I love putting my iPod on shuffle. I never know what is coming up next.

 

Getting lost isn’t exactly a good thing when I do this before work, which is why I do it several hours before.  Just in case.

This is the one ritual in my day that I rarely miss and when I do, I feel like I’m not complete.  Pretty odd since bubble baths were pretty rare for me before.  Now, using the shower is pretty rare.

The water here is chlorinated, so sometimes I feel like I’m in a pool.  I keep meaning to go to Home Depot or something to see if there are filters for the faucet.  I can hear my big brothers telling me that chlorine will get me cleaner than soap.  Yeah, yeah, yeah.  😛  They were swimmers so they often smelled like chlorine when I was with them.

If you don’t have a daily or weekly ritual that helps you manage your stress, now is the time to start exploring finding one.  As for me, I’d love to get back on the mat for some Aikido.  I miss being tossed around and tossing my husband around.  Talk about great stress relief!

6 comments

  1. LOL…You know that a cup of hot tea, good book, and hot bath is my stress reliever. There have been many Saturday’s that I ended up taking 2 or more. Raevan just come’s in, “Mooommm! Oh, you’re depressing; never-mind”

  2. Girlfriend.. I do this every day! Literally.. EVERY day all winter long I end each day with a bath and a good food magazine and usually a cup of tea. I could not cope with life without a bathtub and scalding hot water 🙂

  3. Oh, you found some Bombora and made those Pom-Bom-Tinis! Too cool and lovely contrast to the hot bath. 😉 Thanks so much for the link love, dearie! I agree that they are a bit strong. Hubby and I definitely saw some effects on New Year’s Eve. (hehe) But, a cousin (who is a fine connoiseur of alcohol, wine, etc.) just told us that cocktails are meant to be strong, with one or two being sufficient. He says we’ve all gotten too wussified (my word, not his … he’s refined after all LOL) and drink cocktails like soda. Finally, Star Wars as hot bath reading material? You always surprise me, Debi! (Hmmm. I’m listening to the Outlander series in my car right now. I guess that’s not too far from sci fi if you think about it!)

    xoxo,
    Shirley

    • Shirley, anything I am currently reading is good hot bubble bath material! Unless I’m reading something for learning purposes. That stays away from bubble bath time. 🙂 I agree with your cousin. Cocktails were meant to be sipped and enjoyed. I really did enjoy it, but I didn’t even finish it. My husband even got on me for not finishing it. lol


Leave a Reply

