Resolutions

Bearded Iris at Krohn Conservatory

It’s the time of year when people are asking others, “What’s your New Year’s Resolution?”  The most popular ones I hear people talking about are diet and exercise.  I have thoughts about “going on a diet” that you can read here.   I also have thoughts on “exercise” here.  Just in case you were wondering.

My thoughts today are on resolutions.

I was in line to check out at Kroger Monday morning and I overheard the young female cashier talking to the elderly customer in front of me about resolutions and the importance of them.  Oh great, I thought, she’s going to ask me what my New Year’s Resolutions are when I get up there.  You see, many years ago I resolved to not make New Year’s Resolutions.

It’s odd to me how we wait until the start of the year to do this.  I guess it’s a good starting point for some people.  My husband likes starting to make changes on Sunday, the beginning of the week.  It makes me laugh for some reason because if it’s a Monday and he decides to make a change, he’ll wait until Sunday.  It works for him though.  Starting at the New Year works for others.

I know there are cultural traditions out there where the new year is a cleaning out of the old to make room for the new.  Great traditions.  I have some traditions I follow, but I don’t let myself get fenced in by them.

I don’t like waiting.  I try to make every day an opportunity.  An opportunity to go more green rather than wait for Earth Day to make changes.  An opportunity to give and express thanks rather than wait for that fourth Thursday in November.  An opportunity to resolve to make changes to improve my life or that of others.

A year ago I started moving towards a whole foods diet rather than waiting a few weeks for the New Year to come around.  I made small changes.  No more refined foods and less processed foods were purchased weekly and I tried to use up what I already had rather than throwing it all out.  I didn’t quite get through it all and tossed a lot several months later when following a gluten-free diet became a necessity.

 

Blessings to you in the new year!

 

I see opportunities for change and move on them.  If I wait too long, I can talk myself out of anything.

Carpe diem!

Whether you choose to make resolutions every new year, at the beginning of a week, or whenever you need to make a change, I wish you the best this coming year.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

