Enter, Plan B.

A roast ready to get happy

In a perfect world everything would go according to plan.  In the real world we need Plan B.  Sometimes Plans C & D, too.  This past weekend I had the menu planned out for each meal except for 2 meals I knew we’d  be going out for, 1 of which was to get together with some friends.  I’ll just summarize by saying, nothing has gone according to plan for about a week now.

I fixed a roast Monday with the intent to either freeze it or use it as a topping for the huaraches I was planning on making for dinner.  I was fatigued after a day of moving furniture myself and packing boxes for our move.  I also didn’t sleep well.  So by the time I realized I needed food I knew there was no way I could fix dinner.   No energy = no kitchen work.

A happy roast means happy foodies

I decided to go to Jason’s Deli for a sandwich after taking a shower.  Once I was well nourished, I took care of carving up the pot roast.  The huaraches were going to be my lunches for work, too.  So while I carved up the pot roast, I was thinking about how to use the ingredients I bought for the huaraches with the pot roast in a way that I didn’t need to heat up the pot roast.   Lettuce and tomato were my main concern, then carrots and celery which were used for other dishes and I had leftovers.  Ah!  Pot Roast Salad!

Pot Roast Salad

Definitely not something you see on a menu.  Definitely something I’ve never tried before.  My recent adventures have me thinking outside the culinary box these days.  I knew if my experiment was a flop, I could always run out somewhere to pick something up for lunch real quick.   Thankfully, I didn’t have to.  It was oddly surprising.  I chopped up slices of the pot roast so they were roughly the same size as the tomatoes and carrots.  The flavors blended well together and I was able to get a little bit of pot roast in every bite.   I’m looking forward to the next salad.

Plan B isn’t a bad thing.  Neither is thinking outside the culinary box!

Notes: I fixed the pot roast with a fresh sprig of rosemary, half a yellow onion quartered, 2 whole peeled garlic cloves, and salt in a slow cooker.  If you save the juices you can fish out the rosemary, onion, and garlic and add fresh seasonings and vegetables to make a hearty broth.  The dressing I used for the salad is homemade from a recipe I got from Leanne Ely of Saving Dinner.

Leave a Reply

