Being An Adventurous Foodie

Indian Food at New Krishna

I have explored foods outside my comfort zone since changing to a whole foods diet last December.  This includes trying foods again I previously didn’t like.  I now like mushrooms, beets, and fresh peas.

Going gluten-free limits previously adored options and restaurants.  It also opens up the doors for more adventures.  Danna Korn encourages the exploration of a lot of ethnic foods in Living Gluten-Free for Dummies. Many ethnic foods are naturally gluten-free.  Going to Cincinnati last weekend was the perfect time to have some adventures since we normally eat out while I’m up there.

Thursday night my husband took me to New Krishna for Indian food.  He told me he goes there because there is always a crowd, which he takes to mean it’s good.  I braved the dinner buffet, which is apparently new.  It gave me a chance to try several different dishes in one sitting.  I like everything I tried that night, except for the saag paneer.  I ate about half of what I took of the spinach dish before really deciding I didn’t like it.  The tandoori chicken was what I expected.  The channa masala (chickpeas) was good, but I’m still on the fence about it.   The aloo gobhi (curried cauliflower & potatoes) was so good I went back for seconds.  I also tried the Punjabi Lentil Soup.  It was hearty enough to satisfy the soul on a cold Winter day.  I can’t wait to go back and try some more dishes.

Panang Curry at Bangkok Express

I’m not a fan of Thai food.  Most of the time when I’ve had it in the past, it was too spicy, too sweet, and too milky at the same time.  Those dishes were usually chosen by someone else and I didn’t have much choice but to eat, grin, and bear it.  Then, working at my last job, some of my co-workers wanted to go to the nearby Thai restaurant for lunch quite a bit.  I went with them several times, but never found a noodle dish I liked enough to fall in love with.  So, I’ve stayed clear of Thai food.  Carrie at Ginger Lemon Girl was very encouraging when I mentioned I wanted to explore Thai food more to see if there was anything I would really like.  I kept in mind her suggestions and we went off to the nearest Thai restaurant, Bangkok Express, for dinner Saturday night.   I ordered the Panang Curry, spiced medium.  Our dishes were served family style with a heaping bowl of rice to share between us.  The chicken was tender and I didn’t feel like it was too spicy, too sweet, and too milky at the same time.  Halfway through the dish, the heat really kicked in.  My mouth was on fire!  The heat was telling my brain, stop eating.  My taste buds were telling my brain, keep eating.  What’s a woman to do?  I kept eating!  I finished off all of my curry and what was left of the rice when my husband stopped.  Yes, it’s a rare moment when I finish everything and he has leftovers.  It was after finishing the curry that I noticed they have a beginners spice level.  I think I’ll try that the next time, because there will be a next time.

Our tastes change through the years.  Things we previously didn’t like, we may like now or later on if we take the time to try them out.  What’s next on my list?  Escargot?  Yeah, I’m not ready for that just yet.

One comment


Leave a Reply

