Green Enchilada Lime Chicken

Green Enchilada Lime Chicken with Fajita Veggies & Fresh Cilantro

Amy at Simply Sugar and Gluten-Free puts out a blog every Tuesday called, Slightly Indulgent Tuesday, where she has links to a couple dozen recipes from other bloggers.  Last week I saw a link to something called Enchilada Chicken.  I was curious and took a peek.  It was a recipe for chicken thighs that were rubbed with spices and covered in green enchilada sauce.  I thought to myself, I can do that with a whole chicken.  Confident that I knew what I was doing, I didn’t save the URL so I can’t link the original recipe so you can compare the original with how I changed it.

To make sure this is gluten-free (if you are gluten-free) double check the label.  I had a can in pantry that I thought was gluten-free because I didn’t see it in the ingredients.  As I was rinsing it out (after I poured it all over the chicken), I saw some bold print closer to the bottom stating it contained wheat.  I admit, I stood there contemplating.  I knew I could toss the entire chicken and tell my husband that we were going out to dinner (which happened anyway when a friend called us to go out to meet him and his new girlfriend).  Or I could go ahead and contaminate myself knowingly.  Yes, I chose the latter.  I just couldn’t waste all that.  Thankfully, I didn’t feel any contamination after effects from it.  I’m thinking about making it from scratch from now on.

Green Enchilada Lime Chicken

1 whole chicken

1/2 lime, quartered

1/2 onion, quartered (I used a red onion)

1 teaspoon chili powder

1 teaspoon cumin

1 teaspoon salt

1/8 teaspoon cayenne

1 can green enchilada sauce (gluten-free or not depending on your dietary needs)

fresh chopped cilantro

Stuff the chicken with the lime and onion quarters.  Mix the chili powder, cumin, salt, and cayenne in a bowl and rub into the chicken.  Pour the green enchilada sauce over the chicken and turn the chicken to make sure it covers the entire chicken.  Place in a slow cooker and cook on low for 8-10 hours.   Remove from the slow cooker and let rest before carving.  Serve with fajita veggies and garnish with fresh chopped cilantro.

My slow cooker actually cooks a whole chicken faster than the standard 8-10 hours on low.  If yours cooks faster than standard times, make sure you take this into account.  You could also roast it in the oven if you don’t have a slow cooker.  See this site for cooking times depending on your chicken’s weight.

I chopped up the leftover chicken to make my Addictive Chicken Salad for dinner that night.  When I first decided to use the leftovers in the chicken salad, it was before I prepared the chicken for the slow cooker.  I wasn’t sure about the spices and how they would come through.  It turns out I had the right balance of lime and spice that neither was heavy in chicken.  Yes, the chicken salad was still addictive and when I finished off the last of it earlier this week, I was sad I didn’t have more for later.

Leave a Reply

