Rice Pudding That’s Good For You

Brown Rice Pudding topped with Shredded Coconut and Pistachios

I was inspired to make some rice pudding thanks to a visit to Taz in Cincinnati.  They make a good rice pudding and top it with cinnamon, shredded coconut and crushed pistachios.  I love a good rice pudding and I was in love with theirs as soon as I took my first bite.

I wanted to do something a little more wholesome and healthy, as well as naturally gluten-free.  I used brown rice to make sure I stayed with whole grains.  I used raw local honey to sweeten it instead of sugar.   And, I used unsweetened coconut milk.   It wasn’t as pudding-like as I wanted, but it was thick and sticky like cancanen, a Filipino dessert made with rice, and almost tasted like cananen.

Brown Rice Pudding – serves 4-8

2 cups brown rice

4 1/2 cups unsweetened coconut milk (use more if you want it more pudding-like)

2 tablespoons raw local honey

1 teaspoon cinnamon

1/2 cup no sugar-added raisins

shredded coconut and pistachios for garnish

Combine brown rice, unsweetened coconut milk, raw honey, and cinnamon to a saucepan and simmer for about 45 minutes to an hour.  Add in raisins the last 5 minutes of simmering.  Serve topped with shredded coconut and pistachios (or other preferred toppings) either warm or chilled.

2 comments

  1. I’m a big fan of rice pudding, and I love the sprinkling of pistachios on top!

    Glad you got the dining out guides…hope they’re helpful for you too!


Leave a Reply

