Chilled Corn Soup With Avocado…It’s Naturally Gluten-Free, too!

Chilled Corn Soup with Avocado

We were getting a lot of corn on the cob from the CSA and unfortunately, some of it went bad before I could use it.  I love corn on the cob, but I have to take it off the cob for my husband, so it becomes a pain at times.  Then there is the fact, that some of it was placed in the bottom drawer and forgotten.  That drawer tends to be the black hole of the fridge.  It’s not in my view so I tend to forget about what I have down there.  The corn I used for the soup I kept out on the shelves to remind myself that they needed to be used.

I decided to make chilled corn soup since I need something for lunches at work that don’t need to be heated.  I did this simple and didn’t cook it until after I processed it because I wanted fewer steps and less dishes to clean.  I was pleased with how it turned out.

Chilled Corn Soup – serves 4

4 ears of corn, kernels removed

1/4 onion, rough chopped

1/2 – 1 cup water

1 teaspoon salt

2 ripe avocados, sliced or chopped

Process corn and onion in a food processor or blender with water until it is the consistency you are looking for.  I wanted a chunky consistency so I did not use a lot of water and I didn’t process it very long.  Scrape the corn into a medium sauce pan and simmer on low for 20 minutes, stirring occasionally.  Add salt just before removing it from the heat.  Place in a serving bowl or storage container and refrigerate until chilled.  Dish into individual bowls and garnish each bowl with half an avocado.

2 comments


Leave a Reply

