Addictive Chicken Salad


My Mandoline

This is my mandoline.  Not to be confused with the mandolin instrument or the Mandolin Rain.  It bit me when I was taking it out of the cabinet to make chicken salad.  I nearly didn’t make the chicken salad because said bite was pretty painful and on my right index finger.   Then when I finally got to it, it decided to be fickle and wouldn’t work right.  There is the possibility that I still need to work on how to use it properly, too.  Funny how commercials, instructions, and DVDs that come with this stuff make it seem so effortless.  Really not funny at all.  It’s supposed to make food prep easier.  I will conquer you, you beast.

Homemade Mayonnaise

This is the mayonnaise I made in my HealthMaster blender.  I wasn’t setting out to make everything from scratch.  It appears I got distracted at the grocery and forgot to buy it, and I was disinterested in returning for just one item.   It was simple and took just a few minutes to make.  Best of all, no leftovers to store.  From now on, I’m making my own.

Addictive Chicken Salad with Red Leaf Lettuce on a Brown Rice Tortilla by Food for Life

This is the chicken salad I made with the mayonnaise and without the help of the mandoline.  It was so scrumptious I nearly ate it all when I tasted it.  I probably would have been sick since I made enough for three lunches this week.  I did set some aside to eat as a snack.  Even then, I wanted more after I was done with said snack.  I have no measurements because I just threw everything in the bowl and mixed.

Addictive Chicken Salad

Leftover chicken, chopped

Celery, sliced

1 small Jicama, diced (no thanks to that persnickety mandoline)

black grapes, halved

raw walnuts, crushed

1 cup homemade mayonnaise

Throw it all in a big mixing bowl and mix well.  Serve on bread, tortillas, crackers, or eat it straight out of the mixing bowl.  Use gluten-free baked goods if you are on a gluten-free diet.  Eating it out of the bowl works well with the gluten-free diet, too.

Leave a Reply

