Debi’s Chicken Adobo

Simmerin'

My friend asked me last week if I had an adobo recipe because she searched my blog and couldn’t find one.  Of course I have one, I just didn’t have it written down.  The good thing about me sharing these recipes for all of you, is it’s forcing me to get it out of my head and down on paper.

Saturday night I went into the kitchen with my paper and pen and set out to make a favorite of mine.  Now, I warned Messa that my recipe is pretty vinegary.   So, I’m warning you now as well.  In fact, when we were eating dinner, my husband asked again if it was adobo because I had gone light on the vinegar and made the mistake of not checking it while it was cooking.  Good thing is I can add more vinegar when I warm up the leftovers on the stove.  Easy fix!

Debi’s Chicken Adobo (serves 4)

2 pounds chicken

1-3 cups distilled white vinegar

1/4 cup wheat-free tamari (or shoyu – soy sauce, if you don’t want this gluten-free)

3-5 cups water (you want to add enough to the other liquids that will cover the chicken)

1 teaspoon black peppercorns

2 bay leaves

salt

1 tablespoon grapeseed oil (or other oil that doesn’t have flavor that will change the flavor of the adobo)

Heat a large pot on medium.  Salt the chicken on both sides.  Add the oil to the heated pot and swirl around.  Lay the chicken at the bottom of the pot and let brown.  Turn the chicken and brown on the other side.  Add the remaining ingredients and cover.   Let it come to a boil and then turn down and simmer on low for an hour.

Debi's Chicken Adobo

Tips: Use the dark meat part of the chicken with the bone still in.  It will be nice and tender.  I like to cook mine until the meat starts falling off the bone.   Learn from my mistake!  I’ve made this so much that I wasn’t even thinking that I should be tasting since I measured everything rather than pouring like I normally do.  Make sure you taste it and adjust to your liking.  I used 1 cup of vinegar, but I’m pretty sure I use more along the lines of 2-3.  I figure those that aren’t too keen on vinegar won’t feel overpowered by it.

I know there are different kinds of adobo.  In fact, one of the guys that used to work in the kitchen at my last job used to make adobo.  However, it wasn’t the same.   Latin America has a much different style of adobo than the Philippines.

I’ll take mine with extra vinegar, please!

One comment

  1. Pingback: Navy Bean Soup « Hunter's Lyonesse


Leave a Reply

