Sweet Indulgence

Maple & Cinnamon Organic Flax Crackers

The first raw snack I tried during my tasting on Thursday was the Maple & Cinnamon Organic Flax Crackers by Foods Alive.  I have to tell you first that, there were a LOT of raw snacks for me to choose from and it was difficult to choose just a few so I didn’t go overboard.  What drew me to this product was the packages were larger than the others and had rather large lettering on the front.  As to how I chose the flavor, well it’s cinnamon!  Need I say more?

I needed something sweet Thursday after work.  It was a stress reaction.  I actually had a dark chocolate Reese’s peanut butter cup in my hand when I had to stop at the pharmacy I frequent for something else.  I was good though, and put it back.  I told myself, you don’t need it, you just want it.  I felt rather proud of myself.

Foods Alive Packaging

The packaging of the flax crackers has in large lettering on the back the 3 ingredients: Golden Flaxseed, Pure Grade A Maple Syrup, and Cinnamon Powder.  All of the ingredients  are certified 100% organic.   The flaxseed provides a great counter to the sweetness of the maple syrup so it doesn’t taste overly sweet.  Not having refined sugar has really made me appreciate just that hint of sweetness to some foods.  I know if I’m eating something that tastes too sweet for me, that it’s definitely not good for me.  The flaxseed is also rich in Omega-3s and fiber.  Omega-3s help thyroid functioning and help reduce cholesterol.  They can also help with blood pressure, and heart disease.  Flax is a good source of Omega-3 if you don’t like fish, so are walnuts.

The crackers are dehydrated, so again, they are not processed and fit my whole foods and gluten-free needs.   I could easily take the package on a road trip, or put a few in a container when I know I’ll be somewhere where there are no gluten-free options.

Okay I admit it.  I had to eat a few small ones while typing this up.  If you end up trying them, you’ll see why.

Leave a Reply

