Gluten-Free Freak Out

Pastrami with Field Greens, Tomato, and Stone Ground Mustard on Gluten-Free Bread

I didn’t mean to go to Jason’s Deli to get lunch today.  But, I think being productive before 10am made me think I needed to reward myself.  Or at least get myself out of the house for a few minutes.

So, I go to the To Go counter to order my sandwich and the conversation goes somewhat like this…

Me: I’d like the pastrami on gluten-free bread, with-

Him #1: What kind of bread?

Me: Gluten-free.

Him #1: What?

Me: Gluten-free

Him #1: I think that’s the wheat.

Me: No, there is gluten in wheat.

Him #1 (looks at me like a deer in headlights): Let me ask.

Him #1 proceeds to step over to Him #2 at counter where people eating in order and then Him #2 walks over.

Him #2: You have a question?

Me: I want my sandwich with the gluten-free bread.

Him #2: That’s the wheat.

By this time my temperature is rising and I have to take a deep breath to stay calm or I knew it wouldn’t be pretty.

Me: How can it be the wheat when there is gluten in wheat?

Him #2 (looking rather confident): Let me go get the package.

Waiting…

Him #2 returns with bread in hand: It’s whole grain.  I’m sorry.

I ordered feeling relieved because for a second, I thought I was going to walk out without anything.

EEEEEK!

I get home with my sandwich, turn on a movie on Netflix Instant Watch (thank you Wii!), sit down and open the container.  First thing I notice is the bread falling apart before I’ve even touched it.  Second thing, I suddenly remember how they pile on the meat.  I mean pile.  Dagwood would love their sandwiches.  So, crumbling bread and lots of meat makes for messy eating.  By the time I hit where I took the picture on the right, about halfway through the first half, I decided it was time for a fork.  I finished off the half with the fork and then had a stare down with the second half wondering if it was worth the effort.

I set it aside and went to the Contact Us portion of the Jason’s Deli website.  I left them feedback about my experience with the ordering gluten-free bread and actually eating it, along with some suggestions to make things easier for people like me who have to be gluten-free.

It was worth the experience to know what to expect if I decide to have a sandwich there again.  But, it definitely wasn’t worth it in the taste department.

For those of you who I’m not friends with personally on Facebook, you can now follow my blog page on Facebook.  I’ll be posting updates to my blog on there as well as articles on health and wellness that I find that I haven’t been able to share on my blog.

Leave a Reply

