Rubber Chicken

I apologize for neglecting posting for almost two weeks.  I got caught up in life!  But, I have kept running ideas for posts in the back of my mind.  At my boss’ urging before leaving the office today, I decided I would do a post on fixing food.  She asked for a recipe, but I’m not sure it will be much of a recipe.

I started doing the cooking for my family back in Jr. High.  Admittedly, there were a lot of Spaghetti-O nights.  Mostly for my brother and sisters.  I wound up fixing something for them early because they would be hungry before my parents got home from their store, then I’d fix something else for me and my parents.  I used a lot of recipes back in those days.  As the years progressed, some favorites got memorized and altered, like my meatloaf.  As the aroma wafted through the house, my brother and sisters would keep coming in the kitchen asking if it was ready yet.   The experience also helped me learn more and more about food and what would or wouldn’t go well together.   Now, at least 90% of my cooking is done without looking at a recipe.  If I pull out a recipe, it’s something new I’m trying or something I don’t make often.

Herbs de Provence Slow Cooker Chicken

So what does this have to do with rubber chicken?  And what is rubber chicken?

I picked up the term from my friend, Leanne Ely at Saving Dinner.  She used it last week on a status on Facebook asking all of us how we do rubber chicken, stretching it out over several dishes.

The picture to the left is from a few weeks ago.  We get a whole pastured chicken every other week in our CSA shares.  Now, I love poultry, especially turkey, and I tend to fix my poultry the same way when I do it whole.  I always stuff it with some kind of fruit.  Recently, I’ve been adding onions and garlic, too.  For turkey, I stuff it with quartered apples and oranges.  For chicken, I tend to use lemon.  For this one, I used quartered lemon, apple, onion and whole peeled garlic cloves.

I layered the bottom of my slow cooker with quartered onions and whole peeled garlic cloves.  Then I placed the stuffed chicken on top.  I change up the herbs I use every time I do chicken.  This chicken got loving from some salt, fresh ground pepper, and Herbs de Provence.  And yes, if you look close, I did leave the skin on.

Herbs de Provence Slow Cooker Chicken With Roasted Veggies

I let it cook for about 6 hours on low.  I carved it up in to pieces.  The breasts were sliced up to help cut down portions and make using the leftovers easier.  I served it with roasted yellow squash, cauliflower, zucchini, and red cabbage all from our CSA shares.  I just chopped up the veggies, tossed them with olive oil, a little salt, and Herbs de Provence right in the pan I roasted them in.

After I was done carving up the chicken, I put the carcass right back in the slow cooker and added bay leaves, salt, more onions, more garlic, chopped carrots, and chopped celery.

The makings for chicken broth

Since the chicken was for dinner, I had the stock brewing in the slow cooker overnight.  By morning, you can smell the brothy goodness.

I had already put dinner leftovers in single serving containers in the freezer for lunches during the work week.  I think I had 2 or 3 lunches waiting for me.  I just finished off the last one for lunch yesterday.   Lunch the day after the original dinner was salad topped with some shredded chicken.

Depending on when I use the stock, depends on how I strain it.  I use my chinois when I’m going to freeze the broth and use it later.  This time, since I knew I was going to make soup right away, I used my fine mesh strainer that I can run through the pot and take out what I need.

Chicken Soup

I started adding things to the pot as soon as I removed the bones and the veggies.  I put in the remaining chicken, sliced carrots, sliced green onions, sliced mushrooms, black beans, and Herbs de Provence.  I let this cook for about 6 hours.  The last hour, I tasted and adjusted seasonings and I added wild rice pilaf.  This was a thick soup, but not thickened.  Leftovers went into single servings in the freezer.  I still have some in there and have been using them for lunches to take with me to work.

One of the things I love about doing chicken in the slow cooker this way, is I don’t have to keep washing pots.  I just wash one and only when it is all done.  Easy peasy!

This post is linked to In My Gluten-free Kitchen Sharing Sunday

4 comments

  1. Pingback: Body Workout 101

  2. Pingback: Not The Same Old Leftovers « Hunter's Lyonesse

    • You’re welcome, Wendy! I had to stop using the Fly Lady routines because my schedule is just to varied to follow it even when I tried to make alterations to it. Got a new system in place now thanks to Stephanie. 😀


Leave a Reply

