The Benefits Of Living And Eating Healthy

Last night I put on a pair of denim shorts before my husband and I went out.   A year ago, I could barely get them on.  Last night I found myself having to pull them up repeatedly while walking around Barnes &  Noble.  I didn’t even think to wear a belt with the shorts, now I know I need to from now on.

I said from the beginning when I started making changes that my goal was to get healthy.  I think I’ve achieved that goal in just 6 months and here are the benefits I’m reaping from it:

  • No colds, infections, flu, indigestion, etc.  The only time I”m “sick” is the day after having something with gluten in it and I avoid it at all costs.
  • The migraines I’d have at least twice a month are now so rare, it surprises me when I get one.
  • I’m not hungry all the time.
  • I have more energy, which over a year ago I seriously lacked thanks to a hypothyroid and deficiencies in iron and vitamin D.
  • Clothes are looser.
  • I don’t crave the things I cut out.  I may have a dessert now and then, but constant cravings and caving in to them are a thing of the past.
  • I enjoy eating what I eat and don’t have that mental block of “I don’t want to eat this.  I want what I can’t have.”  I’m not a slave to food anymore.
  • I spend less on doctors and medications now than I ever did.
  • Making my own cleaners and personal care products cuts down on toxic interference.  Same as filtering my drinking and cooking water.
  • Less sick time = more productivity at work and at home
  • The time spent researching and reading has resulted in a greater awareness of what I’m putting into my body and how it affects my body.
  • Last but not least, my hypothyroid is a thing of the past.  Especially, if I keep this up.

If you haven’t followed my blog from the beginning, here are just some of the changes I’ve made in the last month:

  • Eat whole foods, cutting out refined and processed foods as much as possible.
  • Stick with an exercise regimen.
  • Make my own cleaners and personal care products as much as possible.
  • Started using a water filter.
  • Get rid of as many toxic leaching items as I could in the home.
  • Lastly, eliminated gluten from my diet.

The last change is where I saw and amped up level of benefit across the board.  Gluten wears down the villi in your intestines, which prevents nutrient absorption.  Cutting out gluten can help the villi heal in order to increase nutrient absorption.

My focus now is to maintain my health.  To keep up the changes I’ve made.  I like how I feel now.  I like how the weight my thyroid caused me to gain is slowly coming off.  I like not being sick all the time.

I’m loving life.

Leave a Reply

