The Fruits…And Veggies Of Someone Else’s Labor

I feel I have been neglectful of my blog since my last post and I hope I am forgiven.  I have used the last few days as a break and give myself some “me” time to do whatever I wanted without being beholden to anyone.  I did miss writing though.  The nearly daily exercise I’ve made of blogging has helped me keep doing something I love.  At some point I will transition from blogging frequently to just writing my stories instead and blog once a week or so.  I don’t want to give it up completely, knowing I’ve inspired others and helped educate.

Yesterday, I had my first ever CSA (Community Supported Agriculture) pick up.  I arrived pretty early with my reusable bags in hand and I stood behind another first timer.  The goods were set up farmer’s market style for us.  We checked in and they checked their list and told us what we were to pick up.  I left with a bag full of arugula, mesculin (or mesclun), radishes, green onions, spinach, and strawberries.  It wasn’t until I got home that I realized I should have probably had more.  So, last night I emailed the CSA asking if I was supposed to be told about the rest of the shares I was supposed to pick up or if I was supposed to ask about them. Today, I got a rather confusing email, so I emailed again asking for clarification.  I’m still waiting on an answer, which probably won’t come until tomorrow.

Last night, while on the phone with my husband, I let him know about what we got and asked if he was okay with me making salads for us to take with us on our way to Chicago.  I figured it would help us use up the greens without letting it go bad and it would give us a faster lunch stop without having the worry of trying to find a place to eat gluten-free on the road while trying to beat rush hour traffic in Chicago.  By rush hour traffic in Chicago, I mean missing a drive that would take us 3 hours to get from the city limits to my cousin’s place rather than the hour it took us the last time.  Good ol’ Chicago traffic.

Fresh Greens Salad

My husband agreed to the idea of the salads, so I spent some time this afternoon while making my late lunch, preparing our lunches for tomorrow.   I used just the arugula and mesculin for the greens because I’m using the spinach for my smoothies.  I fried up the remainder of the bacon I had to get rid of it.  I buy bacon rarely, so the faster I get rid of it the better.   I boiled some eggs, chopped up some of the green onions, an avocado, and pulled out some pre-chopped zucchini and bell peppers (red, orange, and yellow) I had in the refrigerator.  After laying out the greens, I tossed on a handful of the green onions, crumbled a piece of bacon, tossed on a handful of the peppers and a handful of the zucchini.  I placed the sliced avocado in the center and placed the quartered egg around the plate.  I dressed it with Leanne Ely’s simple dressing: 3 tablespoons olive oil, 1 tablespoon balsamic vinegar, 1 teaspoon dried oregano, and 1 pressed garlic clove.  I left the garlic out of it this time around because of the amount of green onions I used on the salad.  I didn’t want the onions and garlic completely taking over the salad.  I use very little dressing on my salads and today I used only about 2 teaspoons drizzled over the salad.

I still have some yummy garlic bread I made on Monday with a gluten-free baguette made by Against the Grain that I found at Whole Foods last week.  Simple ingredients in the baguette and it was well worth it to just have it once even if it was costly.  I still plan on making my own bread, but it was a find.  Not only gluten-free, but sugar-free, as well, which is why I have shied away from other store bought gluten-free breads.  The bread has to stay frozen so I made sure to put the leftover garlic bread in the front.  I’m going to have to write myself a note later reminding myself not to forget it.

I also chopped up the radishes and will be taking those as well, along with some carrots and humus, and some fruit.  The ride there should be fully covered.  Now if only the ride home would be as easy.  At least with the ride home, we won’t be trying to beat rush hour and can take our time to find a place that will have some options for me.

Now, off to do more packing!

Leave a Reply

