The Shins Don’t Lie

The last few days have been full of rain on and off.  Friday, I was able to do my interval training in the morning when there was still just a drop here and there.  Today, I went into work for a little while in order to make sure I had all my stuff together for the class I’m teaching tomorrow.  While in the office, I was contemplating whether to do my interval training inside or outside.  I could be inside and comfortable in the exercise room in our complex while using a treadmill or elliptical machine.  Or, I could be outside in the cold and potentially wet weather.  My choice boiled down to my shins.  Yes, my shins are still bothering me a little.  In fact, I have ice on one of them right now.

I came home, changed, and went right to the exercise room to use the elliptical.  I figured the elliptical would minimize the impact on my shins.   It did minimize the impact while I was doing the training.  However, they are bothering me again now.  I’m not sure if this is just continued problems from the original or added.

Yes, the thought did cross my mind to not go at all.  My reasoning to go was I’m still fresh in developing this habit.  My worry was if I let go of the habit for one day, I might be tempted for let go of it altogether.  I know I was able to jump back in as soon as my body recovered from the conference two weeks ago, but I was mentally and emotionally exhausted, as well.  I’m not exhausted at all.  My shins just hurt.  I’m taking care of them now and praying they will be better soon.  I’ll probably continue using the elliptical to minimize the impact.

Ah, if only I were young again when I never had this issue!

Leave a Reply

