Buffet Adventure

One of my husband’s cousins is in town this weekend and we actually got to see her this morning for brunch.  We went to one of my sister-in-law’s favorite places to eat, Ramsi’s On Top Of The World.  I used to go there for lunch a lot at one point at my last job.  I started to worry this morning about what I would order since what I normally ate there were their pita sandwiches or their hummus and pitas.  I couldn’t think of anything on the menu that was gluten-free offhand.

When we were seated, we weren’t given menus.  Okay.  When our waitress finally came, she told us they have a brunch buffet and an omlette bar.   Nice.

I hit the buffet with my sister-in-law and left everyone else at the table in the middle of their catching up.  First thing that catches my eye is a Veggie Eggs Benedict.  I love Eggs Benedict.  Can’t have it anymore because of the gluten.  I had to pass up a lot of the stuff on the buffet line because of potential gluten.  I thought I chose well.  Eggs, spinach salad, some kind of fish and mixed veggies, a little bit of bacon, and a lot of fruit.  Oh, and home fries.

I only took about 6 pieces of the home fries and halfway through it tasted like french toast.  Not sure if it was cooked on the same grill or not, but as soon as it became suspect, I stopped eating it.  Halfway through the small piece of fish I had, it seemed like it was lightly coated in something.  However, I didn’t stop.  I finished the piece.  It was about the size of my index, middle, and ring finger.  I’m sure I’ll know by tomorrow for sure if it was tainted with gluten.

Right now I’m feeling a little out of focus.  I keep trying to finish Through The Looking Glass for book club, but I read a few pages and I have to put it down.  I don’t know if it’s gluten related or if it’s not being interested in the book.  My best guess right now is gluten.  It took me about 15 minutes and several distractions to get started on this post.

If it is gluten related, I’m glad I don’t have a full day of work tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

