It’s Not All About Exercise

I am friends with JJ Virgin on Facebook.  I first learned about her on Leanne Ely’s Saving Dinner radio show when Leanne had her as a guest.  She is a celebrity health and fitness expert and a frequent guest caller on Saving Dinner. Last night she posted a link to her blog and I quickly shared it after I read it.   A new study came out stating that women, especially older women would need to exercise more to lose weight.  This was apparently shared on Good Morning, America.

Exercise more? Seriously?  The articles I found online today state that women would need to exercise at least an hour a day to lose weight.  One of the articles stated they studied woman with an “average age of 54 who ate a typical American diet.”  Typical American diet.  Let us consider this.  When I think of the typical American diet I think of fast food, fried foods, sugary foods, more meats than vegetables and fruit, refined grains, canned foods, and processed foods.  Food in a box.  All the foods I’ve moved away from since last year.   Then take into account these are women going into menopause, if they haven’t already, which means their hormones are all out of whack anyway.   Plus, while going through menopause, they are susceptible to developing hypothyroidism because of their hormones changing and not being stable.  So, if that happens, all the exercise in the world isn’t going to help lose weight if you aren’t doing anything to change other aspects of your life.  As JJ mentions in her blog, cortisol levels go up during menopause and more exercise increases it even more, which leads to adrenal fatigue.  It also causes more oxidative stress, which I believe I’ve mentioned before.  Think of oxidative stress as causing rust in our bodies.  Ew, right?

I’m going to throw in a huge quote here from JJ since I can’t say it any better than she did.

“The research on high intensity interval training shows that 4 minutes of high intensity is the equivalent of TWENTY minutes of moderate exercise AND it raises anabolic hormones to counteract the effects of stress hormones. It is also de-aging as it raises lactic acid which in turn promotes the release of Growth Hormone – the hormone of youth and vitality.”

I’m all for interval training.  I’ve stated before that I feel so much better after a short round of interval training than I do with regular exercise for 30 minutes.  Forget an hour.  I’ve been there done that last year trying to lose weight once I feeling better again.  I was walking an hour a day with no real change in my weight.  I’d lose a couple of pounds and then gain it back.  The interval training helps raise your resting metabolic rate, too.  That means you will burn more calories when you are at rest than you normally would.

There are so many more pieces to this weight loss puzzle than just exercise.  It’s changing your diet, managing stress levels better, getting rid of the toxins as much as possible in your environment and your food, and in my experience, not focusing on weight loss.  My focus is getting healthier not weight loss and I’m reaping the benefits.  I’ve said before that I need to move more, but many days, I just don’t have the motivation to move or even exercise.  Yet, I’m still losing weight because of the changes I’ve made.  I rarely step on the scale to see how much I weigh because I prefer to go with how I feel and how my clothes are fitting.  My boss asked me yesterday if I lost more weight.  I had to say, “I don’t know.”  Because I truly didn’t know.  I hadn’t stepped on the scale in over a month.  She told me I looked like I had, so this morning I stepped on the scale and she was right.  It wasn’t a lot, just a couple more pounds.

This is the other article that I found about this study.   I think I’ve ranted enough about the atrocities of the study.

Leanne shared this article earlier on Facebook.  I hope you find it interesting.  I shared it on Facebook, too.  I can say that I don’t eat those 7 foods either.  Thank goodness.

Today ends the 3 week gluten-free trial.  So, tomorrow I’m celebrating with a piece of sprouted grain toast to see how I handle that.

Oh, and don’t forget Jamie Oliver’s Food Revolution starts tomorrow night on ABC!  Two hour premier!

One comment

  1. Pingback: It's Not All About Exercise « Hunter's Lyonesse | Adrenal Diet Weight Loss


Leave a Reply

