It Starts With You

I discovered tonight that ABC showed a special preview of Jamie Oliver’s Food Revolution.  Sad to say, I missed it.  I will be looking for it online tomorrow to watch though.  I’m really interested to see what he does and where the show goes.  I know from his TED speech what his dream is for America in terms of food and nutrition education and that he went into at least one school to do some teaching and worked individually with one family, who are all obese with multiple health issues.

One of the things that Michael Pollen noted in his interview on Oprah is that there is a correlation between our healthcare spending and our food spending  (healthy foods that is).  The more we spend on food, the less we spend on healthcare.  The less we spend on food, the more we spend on healthcare.  I’ve said before.  I spend a lot less on my own healthcare now that I’m diligent about eating whole foods.  Yes, I may spend more on food, but I’m not spending as much on doctors visits or medications, both prescription and over-the-counter.

I am still not taking the glucosamine-chondroitin for my elbow because there is no inflammation anymore.  The whole foods have seen to that.  This means I won’t need to be seeing my naturopath as much for a tune-up on it.  My immunity is probably the best it has ever been and I feel good most of the time.

I believe the healthier we are physically, the healthier we are mentally and emotionally.  Sure, I get upset here and there, but for the most part, I’m happy and positive.  Those of you who know me are probably thinking, “But that’s how you are anyway.”  That’s how I had to push myself to be a lot of the time.  Now it’s not a push anymore.  It comes naturally.  If that makes any sense.  I still put forth a conscious effort to make sure I’m positive rather than succumbing to allowing my emotions take control in a stressful moment.  I seek out other positive people, too.  People I know that will be uplifting rather than complain about every little thing all the time.  I’ll admit.  Sometimes I have to skip over some statuses on my news feed in Facebook when I keep seen negatives.  Then there are the ones that scream for me to leave a positive message somehow.

Tonight, the House passed the healthcare bill.  One that I don’t agree with, especially with all the things that were hidden in it and Representatives blatantly voting the opposite of how their constituents asked to vote.  I won’t get up on a political soapbox.  My point here is that healthcare reform starts at home with what you have in your pantry and your refrigerator.   It starts with your trips to the doctor and how you interact with him/her.  It starts with personal accountability and taking care of yourself rather than trashing your body that God gave you.  It starts with teaching your kids about food and good eating habits.  It starts with pushing for food changes in your child’s school.  It starts with making yourself get up and moving around more.

It starts with YOU.

Leave a Reply

