Eating Food

I’m eating and blogging.  How odd, right?  Truth be told, I had no idea what to blog about tonight.  Then I made dinner and it clicked a little.  I’m tying in my dinner with Michael Pollan’s first rule from Food Rules – Eat Food.  To this day I still get asked, “What do you eat?” when telling people I cut out refined and most processed foods.

Those of you who have kept up with me from the beginning will know that when I started my diet change, my new favorite sandwich became roasted eggplant, avocado, and alfalfa sprouts on sprouted grain bread.  Since going gluten-free, I’ve had to alter it a little.  I now have all that on sprouted corn tortillas.  I’d call it a wrap, but the tortillas are not big enough to really wrap around the ingredients.  Two weeks ago, I added humus to the mix as a “spread” on the tortilla so I’d have some protein.  It has made a tasty addition.  Today, I added some fresh cilantro and the fresh alfalfa sprouts that I’ve grown (and were saved with the help of my BFF).  I can say that fresh alfalfa sprouts are AWESOME!  Nice to have them ready and not going bad on me after they looked fine in the store.

Humus, roasted eggplant, avocado, cilantro, and alfalfa sprouts on sprouted corn tortillas.

Lunch today was baked salmon topped with kale and dandelion greens.  I got the idea from Silly Sissy who did this to chicken last week.  I couldn’t remember everything she said she did, so I did what I remembered and bastardized the rest to suit what I had and what I thought would work.  First off, she used kale and spinach.  I had dandelion greens that needed using, so I chopped some of that up with the kale.  I heated the pan, added about 2 T olive oil, then added 2 cloves chopped garlic.  I let the garlic brown a little, then added 1/2 C beef stock.  Silly Sissy used chicken stock, but I had just made some beef stock over the weekend and had left some out from the freezer just for this.  I let the stock warm up and added the greens, salt, and pepper.  Tasty!  If the picture looks a bit cloudy, that’s the steam from the rice.

Baked salmon topped with kale and dandelion greens with brown rice on the side.

Lunch on Sunday was actually the lunch I meant to prepare on Saturday, but didn’t.  Once you see, you’ll understand why I didn’t want to be chopping with a knife while my hands weren’t cooperating.  I made guacamole and pico de gallo to go with this, but I ran out of upload space.  Bugger.

Naked shrimp fajitas on cilantro-lime brown rice

Other than the sprouted corn tortillas, all the ingredients are non-processed and whole.  The shrimp and salmon were wild caught.  I’ve been using more water with brown rice (short-grain) so it gets more sticky like the white rice I grew up with.  I can now say I like brown rice!

So, that’s my food I eat.  What are you eating?

Leave a Reply

