Choose Wisely

Yesterday I took a little detour from the stringent diet.  Just a small one.  We ate a late breakfast and so lunch was late, too.  Hubby brought up going out to sushi for dinner and I suggested Mexican for lunch.  There is a great place about 10 minutes from us and I really didn’t want to cook because I was having problems losing control of my hands and feeling like all the strength drained out of them several times.  I knew it wouldn’t be a good idea to chop veggies if I couldn’t control my hands.

So here was the detour.  Keep in mind that I chose what I was eating very carefully and that I knew where I was going astray when I made my choices.  I had a horchata, well two.  I do love horchata.  What is it?  Rice milk sweetened and spiced.  So yummy.  I also had cheese that was on the guacamole and the chicken tacos I had.  I was feeling phlegmy right away, but I expected that.  That just means I’ll be staying away from dairy as much as possible.  I also ate some of the rice, which I know was white.  I didn’t eat all of it though.  I did have that overstuffed feeling by the time we left and suggested we go somewhere to walk it off.  We spent an hour and a half at The Mall St. Matthews.

I was feeling pretty tired by the time we got to the car.  When we got home I got caught up finishing reading Sidney Sheldon’s Mistress of the Game by Tilly Bagshawe and when I realized what time it was, it was nearly  9:30.  Good thing hubby wasn’t hungry.  I was only slightly hungry and had some pumpkin seeds.  I was more tired than hungry though and wound up lying down and falling asleep watching The Punisher.

I think last night was the first night I had enough sleep in over a week.  Nearly 10 hours!  I don’t know if it was from the walking or the food or a combination of both.  Whatever it was, I needed it.  I was able to make the huge lunch I had planned for yesterday.  Naked shrimp fajitas on cilantro-lime brown rice with homemade pico de gallo and guacamole.  I took pictures, but don’t have them uploaded yet.  It was rather yummy and hubby made a comment about feeling like it was 10 pounds of food.  I couldn’t even eat it all and saved the rest of mine for dinner tonight.  Hubby is also making more strides and asked for one of my books on metabolism.  I had to give him UltraMetabolism since my boss has Master Your Metabolism.

My movement today consisted of house cleaning.  I finally forced myself to finish the dusting, mop the kitchen and bathroom floors and then vacuum the carpeted areas.  I also did a load of towels and changed the bedding.  *pats self on back*  It is a definite battle.  I think having done housework and dishes since I was 7 was my downfall.

You know how I’ve been talking about how I find things on labels that are not good for us on things that are supposed to be or we’ve been led to believe they are?  Here is an article on just that.  http://www.naturalnews.com/028364_health_food_snacks.html Always read the labels if you are buying something with a label.  There are hidden sugars and crap in our foods that we don’t even think about when it comes to foods that are marketed as “healthy.”  I am loving opening up my refrigerator and having a wide variety of fruits and veggies at my disposal.  Not to mention the nuts and seeds I have in my pantry.

This next article is another about the link between high fructose corn syrup from soda consumption and diabetes. http://www.naturalnews.com/028340_diabetes_sodas.html I have a friend with diabetes that just gave up soda after feeling really sick one night with a blood sugar level in the 4oos.  For those of you who don’t know, that’s bad.  I was surprised that he wasn’t in the hospital.  In any case, after giving it up and drinking only water, his blood sugar is now normal.  That’s just from giving up soda.  I know for a fact that he likes all kinds of sweets and junk food, which when he gives those up  will help stabilize his diabetes even more.  One of my friends commented when I posted this in Facebook that he lost 20 pounds from giving up soda after being diagnosed with diabetes last year.  HFCS is diabolical.

It’s pretty clear to me that the FDA doesn’t have our best interests in mind.  It’s up to us to police our food, read our labels and leave the stuff on shelves that we know are toxic.  Which is most of what is on the grocery store shelves.  Even the “healthy” foods at health foods stores or the specialty “health section” at big chain groceries.  Take control and show the food industry we won’t put up with it anymore.

Leave a Reply

