Escaping Wrigglers

Imagine my surprise when I took some food waste out to my brand new compost bin and discovered the little wrigglers trying to escape last night.  One thing I did not bother to think about was the seal on the bin I got.  The suggestion I got was to use a Rubbermaid Roughneck.  Well, I got the cheaper one without even thinking.  I wrangled the worms back in the bin and started thinking about solutions…at 9pm.  My problem was the time and my OCD.  I knew I couldn’t go out anywhere to get a new bin or get a board to cover the bin.  My husband was on his way home from his Chado lesson in Champaign, IL with a friend so trying to send him out was out of the question.  Sometimes, my thinking becomes obsessive and I can’t stop until the situation is resolved or I can somehow get the thoughts out.  Okay, well most of the time.  And last night all I could think about is the escaping worms and how many would be lost by morning.

A friend I made in the Hypothyroidism group on Facebook saw my status and jokingly said I needed a worm whisperer.  Worm whisperer indeed.  But thanks to her, I found a solution.  I moistened the bin down even more and found some flat rate boxes that I hadn’t used yet and covered the bin with those.  I checked this morning and they were all nestled snug in the compost.  None of them on the sides or up near the lip at the escape ready.  I’ve checked two  more times and they are still working hard.

Silly sissy told me earlier this week or last week (depending on when you think the week starts), that she made some gluten-free chicken nuggets that were pretty tasty.  This gave me an idea.  I took a recipe that I bastardized (as I do most recipes) and altered it to fit gluten-free and whole foods to make some chicken tenders for lunch today.

Chicken tenders coated in brown rice, paprika, salt, cracked pepper, and sesame. Curried brown rice, golden beets, carrots, broccoli, onions, yellow pepper, mushrooms, and rainbow chard.

I did use the new blender/mixer last night, christening it with the green smoothie.  I was impressed that it blended so quickly and smoothly.  I was lucky if the old blender didn’t leave me with big chunks.  I just used it again a little while ago for another green smoothie, that doesn’t look so green because I added a little more frozen mixed berries than usual.  By the way, this smoothie is the only time I used frozen fruit.  And for some reason, I forgot the almond butter in this one.  I didn’t even realize it until I poured it.

Unsweetened coconut milk, kale, spinach, Medjool date, frozen mango, and frozen mixed berries.

I planted some more seeds today while it was still sunny and warm outside.  Some beets, zucchini, yellow squash, spinach, broccoli raab, and eggplant.  Can’t wait for them to start growing!

One comment

  1. Haha, the chicken looks a lot like mine did. My green smoothie has looked like that, but from red cabbage, not more fruit.


Leave a Reply

