Busy Day

On day two of being gluten-free and egg-free, and right now the only thing I miss are the eggs.  I got used to my eggs with mushrooms and spinach in the mornings!  I tossed that first batch of gluten-free bread in the compost and I may try another batch this coming week.  Last night, I made some spaghetti sauce with fresh tomatoes, carrots and zucchini for some quinoa pasta.  The pasta was great, but I noticed on the ingredients after I dumped it in the water that it’s likely refined corn and refined quinoa.  *sigh*  I did feel gassy after eating, so I’m taking that as a sign that it was refined.  Didn’t stop me from eating the leftovers for lunch today, though.  Tonight, I’ll be trying my favorite sammie ingredients on a sprouted corn tortilla to see how that goes.

Alfalfa sprouts, avocado, and roasted eggplant on sprouted grain bread.

Just in case you wondered what the sandwich looked like. 🙂

This morning I went out for 3 things: 1) a new blender, 2) red wigglers for composting, 3) take pictures at the park.  After seeing an infomercial.  Yes, yes, an infomercial.  I decided to scrap getting a Breville blender and get the Living Well Healthy Mixer.  It’s basically a Vitamixer but a fraction of the cost.  PLUS, I checked Bed, Bath, & Beyond’s website and they carry them.  So I ran off with my 20% off coupon.  I may not be as frugal as Granny was about everything I buy, but if I can get something I want cheaper, hell yeah!  The mixer wound up being just over half the cost of the Breville I wanted.  Right now it’s drying on the kitchen counter just waiting for its maiden mix.  I’m thinking Silly Sissy’s green smoothie ought to break it in since that is what broke the last one.  I’ll let you all know what I think of it in the next blog.

I got the worms for the composting.  Kinda freaked me out when I walked into the bait shop and all I saw was bar setup.  Mind you, I’ve not gone into a bait shop since I was a kid.  One of the guys thought I was looking for the place next door.  They were all pretty friendly in there, so I have no complaints about the “oh shit” feeling I got when I opened the door.  The worms should be gorging themselves on the food in the compost bin right about now.  *crosses fingers*

Peppered onions, mushrooms, spinach, and shrimp over quinoa pasta with homemade spaghetti sauce.

The picture attempt was a fail.  The park I went to didn’t have any photo ops I could see while driving around so I headed home and had lunch.  The picture was from last night.  I didn’t have it with the shrimp for lunch today.

I started on the seed planting after getting the compost bin finished off.  Well, I should say I cleaned out and organized the outside storage closet first.  I couldn’t get to what I needed and someone’s idea of putting stuff away in there is to just chuck it in wherever it fits.  So, out everything came and I started a trash pile, Goodwill pile, I need this now pile, and going back in pile.  Okay, so with limited space, I didn’t really have all those piles, but that’s how I kept track of them in my head as I was taking them out.  I got a bit hot while doing all this, so I wound up changing into shorts, a tank top and my slippahs!  Felt nice since the sun was hitting me and keeping me warm while I was working on the lanai (or patio for all you Mainlanders).  I was finally able to start my planting once I had all the trash set outside the front door, the Goodwill pile by the fireplace and the stuff I didn’t need for planting back in the closet.  It was nice getting my hands dirty with the potting soil.  One day I’ll have a real garden!  *daydreaming*  I got mixed sweet peppers, tomatoes, carrots, honeydew melon and watermelon planted before it started to really cool down and I started feeling tired.  It doesn’t seem like much, but I covered all the pots with plastic wrap and taped it down for a greenhouse effect.  It helps start the seeds without using one of those special seeders and having to re-plant.

Here are some articles of interest.  Well, of my interest at least.  I hope you find them interesting.  The first one: http://www.foodrenegade.com/plu-codes-dont-indicate-gmo-produce/ is about GMO produce and PLU codes.  The thought that they don’t have to indicate that the produce is GMO is sickening, literally.   And then we have: http://articles.mercola.com/sites/articles/archive/2010/03/06/why-does-fda-allow-banned-drugs-to-be-fed-to-livestock.aspx?sms_ss=facebook the reason to eat grass fed livestock.  Even more sickening.  I thought the FDA was supposed created to protect the general public.  But, maybe that’s my mis-perception.  I got these articles from Leanne Ely on Facebook.  Gotta give credit since I didn’t find them myself!

The last one is for those of you with an autoimmune disorder.  I got this: http://www.medicalnewstoday.com/articles/152822.php from the Functional Health + Chiropractic page on Facebook.  It is interesting in the fact that they are finding this from a plant.  What I’d find more interesting is to see how it is actually put to use.  Will it be synthesized and sold as a pharmaceutical?  Or will it be cultivated and sold as a natural supplement?  I’d prefer the latter.

Leave a Reply

