Toxicity Rising

The information I got today was along the line of toxins again.  I can’t say it enough, toxins are playing a part in our chronic health conditions and mortality rates.  I’m talking the toxins that are used by industrials companies that leech into our daily lives.  The ones under your sink that you use to clean your house.  That cereal you just bought for your kids.  The burger you had for lunch today.  We are more surrounded by toxins than we realize and we’ve allowed it to happen by buying into the marketing ploys.  I said it before, high fructose is not good for us, even in moderation like the commercials would have us believe.  Whole grain in sugary cereals?  Where does the whole grain fall in the order of ingredients?  And what’s the point of the whole grain if it’s full of high fructose corn syrup or evaporated cane syrup.

http://www.generalmills.com/corporate/brands/product_image.aspx?catID=69&itemID=756 Here’s the ingredients of Lucky Charms straight from the General Mills website.

  1. Whole Grain Oats
  2. Marshmallows (sugar, modified corn starch, corn syrup, dextrose, gelatin, calcium carbonate, yellows 5 & 6, blue 1, red 40, artificial flavor)
  3. Sugar
  4. Oat four
  5. Corn Syrup
  6. Corn Starch
  7. Salt
  8. Trisodium Phosphate
  9. Color Added
  10. Natural and Artificial Flavor
  11. Vitamin E (mixed  tocopherols) – Added to preserve freshness
  12. Calcium Carbonate
  13. Zinc and Iron (mineral nutrients)
  14. Vitamin C (sodium ascorbate)
  15. A B Vitamin (niacinamide)
  16. Vitamin B6 (pyroxidine hydrochloride)
  17. Vitamin B2 (riboflavin)
  18. Vitamin B1 (thiamin mononitrate)
  19. Vitamin A (palmitate)
  20. A B Vitamin (folic acid)
  21. Vitamin B12
  22. Vitamin D3

Show of hands if you know how to read the list of ingredients and knows what it means?  For those of you who didn’t raise your hands, the ingredients are listed in the order of most to least contained.  So, whole grain oats is what is used the most in the cereal.  But look what else is in there.  Sugar is listed 4 times! Then you have corn starch and modified corn starch.  If something has to be modified.  It can’t be good for you.  Just remember what I said about genetically modified foods yesterday.   Oat flour is not whole grain, it’s refined.  That means on top of all that sugar, you’ve got a refined flour that will convert to sugar quickly and then hit your bloodstream hard and fast.  Color added and artificial flavor added.  What is that?  I don’t know.  I really don’t and the FDA doesn’t require the food industry to list it.  It could be anything.  Do you want to put that in your body and not know what it is?  Now look at the vitamins and minerals.  There are a lot added, but they are at the bottom of the list. You just basically just ate a bowlful of sugar and who knows what else that negates the whole grain and minimal vitamins and minerals.  It will then tax your liver trying to process the toxins and voila, human foie gras.

Take a look at this video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p0F8x4i5GYE&feature=related If you have me on Facebook, you may have seen it already.  I have to note that this story was about farm raised fish.  We have farm raised fish here in the States and it’s not so pretty either.  Fish weren’t meant to be farm raised.  This is why I said yesterday to look for wild caught fish.  And, stay away from deep sea fish, as they are more apt to be tainted with mercury.   I also have to say that it burns me that the story chose to pick on imported fish, yet look at the decades of mistreated and antibiotic fed farm animals right in our own country.  Yes, we should be testing imports for toxins.  I totally agree with that.  But, how about we stop pumping these animals full of crap right in our own backyard.  For decades we bought this stuff without knowing and we took it with a bib around our necks, a knife in one hand, and a fork in the other.  If any of you get a chance to read any of Ruth L. Ozeki’s books do so.  They are fiction but with a very honest look at our food industry.  Her book, My Year of Meats, was all about the abuse of cows by feeding them crappola and the cruelty of the slaughterhouses.  Silly Sissy is trying to get me to watch Food, Inc., which I fully intend to do, but not yet.  She did tell me yesterday when I told her how I was feeling the day after that burger, that fast food restaurants wash their meat off with ammonia.  OH MY GOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOSH!  That turned me off right there.  Today, one of my co-workers came back with McDonald’s.  All I could think was, Those fries smell like the nastiest, greasiest, grossest things on the planet right now. I had to sit in my office and let the odor die down before I could join them all for lunch.  It was nauseating.  *shudders at the memory*

This next link that I have is from my BFF.  She sent it to me this morning and it’s about the link between toxins and Autism Spectrum Disorder (ASD).  We both have an interest in ASD.  One of my aunt’s has been in Special Ed her entire career and her specialty has been working with ASD.  I had to learn a lot about ASD and the other disorders that will soon be included in ASD – Asperger’s and Pervasive Developmental Disorder (PDD) in my last job.  I had a client with ASD and we started getting a lot of residents in our program with Asperger’s and PDD diagnoses.   My Silly Sissy’s younger son is diagnosed with ASD and my BFF’s son just received that diagnosis by the L.A. Unified School District in an evaluation (to which I wholeheartedly disagree with).  It is interesting that they are finding links to ASD and toxins.  What will it do for society?  I really don’t know.  My hope is that people will at least start being more aware of the toxins they are exposed to on a daily basis.

Put down the pesticides.  Put down the bleach.  Put down the spoonful of Lucky Charms.  Put down that burger.  Get rid of the toxins and start living clean!

One comment

  1. Pingback: American Health Products – Ester C W/Citrus Bioflavonoids, 1000 mg, 180 veg tablets | Health Product Research


Leave a Reply

