Teaching Moment

I have to tell you about my cheat yesterday.  By the time I blogged, I wasn’t feeling the effects of my caving in.  By around 9:30pm, I was having abdominal pains on my left side.  It was like someone was poking me.  Ouch!  Then, I woke up this morning and couldn’t move for a few minutes.  It reminded me of my first blood draw before I was diagnosed with Hypothyroidism.  The day after the blood draw, I couldn’t move when I woke up.  I was facing the middle of the bed and I couldn’t force my body to move.  I don’t think I could have moved even if I was on fire.  It was about an hour before I could finally get myself to turn over and grab my phone to call in.  Yeah, not a fan of waking up and not being able to move.  Filing this away to pull out later when my brain is telling me “HAMBURGER!” when I’m stressing out.

I spent my afternoon at the Capitol Annex in Frankfort today for a Kentucky Mental Health Coalition Meeting.  It was an interesting meeting.  But, best part was the drive to and from with one of my co-workers.  Normally on these long drives together we talk about music, sometimes sports and sometimes some random topic.  Somehow, by the time we hit 64, we were talking about food and health.  I wound up sharing with him probably 75% of what I’ve shared in this blog so far.  Now, Grasshopper (our boss nicknamed him that) is young and lives on his own.  He is also the one I probably get along with best at work.  We discussed his attempt to eat healthy, drink water, etc.  We talked about sugar, high fructose corn syrup, artificial sweeteners, calories, fat, whole foods, gluten, grocery shopping, making lists.  And that’s only some of it!  He was pretty motivated to be more healthy when we started talking.  He was more motivated by the time I dropped him off and I hadn’t even talked about toxins and fatty livers!  He’ll be reading the blog, so he’ll get that when he reads that blog post.

We talked about food in general and how to fix foods since he doesn’t know a lot about fixing foods or figuring out what really is healthy and what isn’t.  I’ve blogged about what a typical food day is like for me.  If you are interested in recipes or more specific food information, leave me a comment.

Grocery shopping can be overwhelming.  Have you been in a Kroger (or other major grocery chain) lately?  Copious amounts of foods and maybe 20 aisles long.  After shopping at Whole Foods for so long, I hated going back to Kroger out of budget needs when I wasn’t working.  It’s hard to get through Kroger without being assaulted by marketing ploys to buy baked goods, candy, and boxed treats.   One of the things I told Grasshopper is to shop on the periphery.  fruits, vegetables, meats, seafood, dairy, whole grain bread.  How much more do you need?  If you can do organics, go for it.  No pesticides.  No genetically modified foods.  If you can only do some organics, buy the fruits and vegetables that have soft fleshes that you eat: berries, apples, pears, grapes, tomatoes, etc.  Look for grain fed meats that were not treated with antibiotics.  Free-range poultry.  Wild caught fish.  Dairy from animals that were grain fed and not treated with antibiotics.  Eggs from free-range chickens.  Whole grain breads.  Once you get used to doing this, it becomes second nature and you rarely need to venture into the quagmire of the aisles.

You may be thinking, “But it’s so expensive.”  Yes, your grocery bill may be higher.  But, you won’t be snacking as much as you used to and the best part, you won’t be paying for doctor’s visits or medications because you’re sick.  I mentioned a couple of weeks ago that I’ve gotten through the winter without being sick.  No cold.  No flu.  No infection.  By now I should have had one, if not more of those.  If you can, grow a garden.  If you have children, it’s a wonderful way to teach them about food and get them outside.  I’m preparing for growing a container garden.  I should have it all planted in the next couple of weeks, I hope.  Growing the vegetables you regularly buy will help reduce your grocery bill.  I would certainly love not lugging as much up the stairs when I come back from the store.  The savings are a bonus!  Plus, having what you want and need on hand saves you from running out because you forgot something.  It will also save refrigerator space.  I don’t know about you, but we have an “apartment size” refrigerator.  That means we have one drawer, which ends up being the crisper, and 3 shelves.  Most of the space is taken up by the fruits, vegetables and leftovers.   I love the array of color that I see when I open the refrigerator and then the crisper.

I’ve mentioned Saving Dinner and Leanne Ely in several of my blogs.  Her shows are online on Blog Talk Radio every Wednesday at noon.  If you can listen in, do so.  She always has good information to share.  There are also archived shows so you can listen to past shows or the most recent show if you missed listening in live.  If you can listen live, log in to the chat.  There is a lot of information sharing that goes on in the chat and they giveaway a free menu/shopping list for 1 week.  This week was 6 dinners that serve 4 and a soup of the week.  Easy right?  RIGHT!  http://www.blogtalkradio.com/saving-dinner Tune in and learn!

Today, I was listening while I was eating lunch before going to that meeting in Frankfort.  Even though I had to leave in the middle of the show, I got a few good links from the chat that was going on.  The first is from Dr. Mercola’s blog.  I shared one of his before about sugar and artificial sweeteners.  This one is about genetically modified foods that are pest resistant. Ew!   I don’t even want to say it, but basically, the pesticide is in the food so that when the pest bites into it, it dies.  As if toxins on the outside of our foods wasn’t bad enough, now they genetically modified our food to put them inside the food.  INSIDE!  You can’t wash it off.  http://blogs.mercola.com/sites/vitalvotes/archive/2010/03/03/genetically-engineered-corn-may-cause-food-allergies.aspx

The last one is about agave nectar and how it is not the miracle sugar replacement we thought it was.  Instead, it’s more like high fructose corn syrup.  And still the general public is being told it is safe and that diabetics should use it.  *sigh*  http://www.westonaprice.org/Agave-Nectar-Worse-Than-We-Thought.html

I don’t know about you, but I”m ready for that food revolution.

Leave a Reply

