Vegan Spinach Artichoke Dip (gluten-free, dairy-free, egg-free)

Vegan Artichoke Spinach Dip

Vegan Artichoke Spinach Dip

Some time last year I decided I needed to try to make Spinach Artichoke Dip without all the dairy and other stuff that makes it so gooey and irresistible when you see it on a menu at a restaurant.  We were out to eat and I saw a plate of it being delivered to a nearby table and I found myself thinking, I kinda miss that.  I bet I could make it without using dairy.  I added it to my growing list of ideas that kept getting put on hold because I had no energy.

Then Super Bowl Sunday started creeping up.  I was home to watch it for the first time in years AND my Niners were playing for the first time in even more years.  I made lettuce-wrapped burgers and decided to attempt a try at the Vegan Spinach Artichoke Dip recipe that was swirling around in my head.

I was pretty impressed with the results and had to give myself a pat on the back.  Chaz even said it was “pretty good,” which he rarely says.  I normally get, “It’s good.”   Or sometimes he licks the bowl or plate.  The action says it all.  I thought the cheese flavor was a little strong, but Chaz liked it.  We both agreed that the spinach and artichoke wasn’t shining like it should.  Easy fix, right?

RIGHT!

I served the dip with carrot sticks, cucumber sticks, and quartered radishes for the Super Bowl meal.   Making it again I decided to use up the corn tortillas in the fridge and made baked tortilla chips to go along with it.  I brushed one side of each tortilla with a little grapeseed oil as I stacked them together before cutting into sixths and throwing them on baking sheet in the oven.  Easy stuff.

Vegan Spinach Artichoke Dip – serves 4

1/2 cup raw cashews (covered in filtered water, soaked for 4 hours, drained)

1 Tablespoons filtered water

1 1/2 teaspoon apple cider vinegar

1 1/2 teaspoon grapeseed oil or olive oil

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 Tablespoon nutritional yeast

1 14 ounce can artichoke hearts, drained and divided in half

1/4 cup frozen spinach, thawed and liquid squeezed out

Place cashews, water, vinegar, oil, salt, and nutritional yeast in a food processor or quality blender and process until smooth, stopping to scrape down the sides 2 or 3 times.  Add in half the artichokes and process until smooth again.  Add remaining artichokes and spinach and process just until the spinach is incorporated through the dip.  You should have small bits of artichokes in the dip.

This post is linked to Wellness Weekends at Diet, Dessert, and Dogs; 5-Ingredient Mondays at The Daily Dietribe; Slightly Indulgent Tuesday at Simply Sugar & Gluten-Free; and Gluten-Free Wednesdays at The Gluten-Free Homemaker. 

11 comments

    • He says he doesn’t like saying, “It’s great,” if it really isn’t. “Pretty good” is the closest I ever get to “great” because usually “great” is him licking the bowl/plate. lol I hope you like it when you do try it! I’m wanting some again. Good thing I have all the ingredients for another batch. :D

      • Had to laugh too. I ask my boyfriend if something’s good and he immediately gives me a full critique of all the ways I could improve it. When I was writing the cookbooks, I wanted that…now, I tell him to just say, “Delicious, thanks for cooking for me.” :) Thanks for another great addition to 5-Ingredient Mondays. The pinterest board is becoming like the perfect easy party recipe board.

  1. Pingback: Kitchen Sink Pasta «


Leave a Reply

