Super Berry Smoothie – Go Ahead Honey It’s Gluten-Free

Super Berry Smoothie

Maggie, She Let Them Eat Cake, is hosting this month’s Go Ahead Honey, It’s Gluten-Free event.  I participate in this few and far between since some themes I don’t have time to play with (and wish I did) and some months I miss out on seeing what the theme is completely.  When I read this month’s theme, I knew I didn’t really have to play around in the kitchen.  I was already making something and planning on sharing this recipe anyway.  Score!

This smoothie is full of natural anti-inflammatory and anti-oxidant based foods.  Blueberry, cranberry, açai, raw local honey and raw cacao powder.  This will help your body fight inflammation and oxidative stress (or oxidative rust, as Dr. Mark Hyman calls it).  This is also full of vitamins and minerals.  I normally make smoothies with some kind of greens included, but this one I’ve left them out.  You can add greens if you’d like.  The darker the better for those polyphenols.  You can also use other dark berries if you don’t have one listed available. And if you don’t like cranberries, you can’t even taste them.  Seriously.

If you have nut allergies, you can use raw sunflower or pumpkin seeds instead.  I would not recommend Sunbutter as it threw the entire flavor profile off when I tested it.  Or, you can use Maggie’s Oh Mega Mix.

I have a tendency to use raw local honey as much as I can.  Not only is it a natural anti-inflammatory, it helps with allergies.  My last chiropractor tried for years to get me to use raw local honey instead of getting allergy shots.  Finally, one day, I was able to remember to have a tablespoon a day and made the transition.  I stopped getting allergy shots several years ago.  One of the best things about moving to Cincinnati is that my raw local honey is so local, I get it from farm just a mile away from us.

Super Berry Smoothie – 16 ounces

1 banana

1/2 cup frozen blueberries

1/2 cup frozen cranberries

1 tablespoon freeze-dried açai powder (I use Navitas Naturals), or 1/4 cup frozen açai berries

1 – 2 tablespoons raw cacao powder (I use Navitas Naturals)

1 tablespoon nut butter

Sweetener of choice (I use 1 tablespoon raw local honey)

1 teaspoon raw maca powder (optional)

Unsweetened dairy-free milk of choice (I use 365 Unsweetened Almond or So Delicious Unsweetened Coconut until I can start making my own)

Add fruit, powders, nut butter and sweetener to your blender.  If you are using a sweetened dairy-free milk, omit or cut back on the added sweetener.  Pour dairy-free milk in just under the 2 cup line.  Blend well.  Serve.

This post is linked to Wellness Weekend at Diet, Dessert and Dogs. 

This post is linked to Friday Foodie Fix at The WHOLE Gang.

17 comments

  1. Yum! I love using maca in our smoothies too. I don’t even notice it’s there. I love the super-power-food ingredients for this smoothie. Thanks so much for sharing with Go Ahead Honey. I LOVE this theme as I’m getting some amazing submissions. Thanks for the Oh-Mega link love too. I didn’t know you were in Cincinnati. We’re practically in throwing distance :)

    • Maca has been a recent addition to my pantry. Once I read that it can help keep hormones balanced, I was all over it. LOL?? I love the theme, too. It’s just perfect. Yup. Cincy. Been here a little over a year. How far can you throw? ;)

  2. This sounds great. I actually have a bag of frozen cranberries on hand. I wish the cranberries were available more times of the year than just Thanksgiving and Christmas. It bothers me that the cranberry doesn’t get the recognition it deserves as a treat for times other than holidays.

    If my blender wasn’t in the shop this would be put together right now for an afternoon delight. :P

    • Kristi, either of those. Almond, peanut, cashew, walnut, pecan, etc. Or you could even use raw nuts. :D I hope they like it! I often make it after I get home from work and it helps tide me over until dinner. :D

  3. Wow! Just discovered your site and was drawn to it as a fellow thyroid patient. This smoothie was AMAZING!! My better half was scraping the glass clean. Thanks for an awesome recipe!!

    • I love putting nuts or nut butter in my smoothies. It’s a great way to round it off to make sure there is protein in there with the fats and carbs. I also use hemp protein powder sometimes. :D

  4. Pingback: Recipe for Gluten Free, Egg-Free, Dairy-Free Foods That Heal

  5. Pingback: Grapple Juice « Hunter's Lyonesse

  6. Pingback: Chocolate Cinnamon Chia Pudding |

  7. Pingback: Creamy Coriander Dressing – Go Ahead Honey, It’s Gluten-Free |


Leave a Reply

