Adopt A Gluten-Free Blogger: Adventures Of A Gluten-Free Mom

Taco Burgers & Sliced Mango

I finally got a chance to adopt Heidi Kelly, Adventures of a Gluten-Free Mom!  Woot woot!  Heidi is an inspiration for anyone who keeps looking for why they are still sick after going gluten-free and not getting 100% better.  She is a wonderful advocate for herself and her family, and she encourages others to do the same.  I have a special place in my heart for anyone who advocates and encourages it.  I was really happy I got to meet her at the Gluten & Allergy-Free Expo back in April.  She is a hoot and then some!

I intended to make her Gluten-free Goldfish Crackers, but the week I was going to make them, the heat and humidity was stifling.  There was no way I was turning the oven on.

Instead, I made her Taco Burgers.  I was thinking to myself, why didn’t I think of this for burgers?  I mean, I used sprouted corn tortillas instead of bread when I first went gluten-free to make my veggie sandwiches.  So why didn’t I think of taco shells to replace burgers?  I don’t know, but I’m sure glad Heidi did.  I enjoyed them so much, I was pretty sad when I ate the last of it for lunch the next day.  It’s dishes like this that make me glad I plan for leftovers for lunch.  Sometimes, having it for one meal is not enough and you want more.  I sliced up a mango and served it on the side.  It was a nice compliment to the Taco Burger.  I couldn’t find any green chili sauce (imagine that), so I wound up using tomatillo salsa instead.  It wasn’t hot, but it had a kick to it from the jalapeños in it.

Gluten-free Reuben Sandwiches & Veggie Sticks

The next night I made her Gluten-Free Reuben Sandwiches.  Other than turkey, pastrami and corned beef are my favorite sandwich meats.  I was over the moon since this is something else I never thought to do since I don’t make sandwiches much anymore.   I made this all on my countertop grill/griddler (it’s gotten a lot of use the last few weeks), so I didn’t have multiple pans to wash and I wasn’t standing over a hot stove burning things.  I sliced up a cucumber, some carrots, and a red bell pepper to serve along side.  I felt we needed something cold and raw to balance the warm sandwich.  The best part was I had enough leftovers for several lunches.  Oh yesssssss.  I did make one change and that was to use provolone instead of swiss.  I’m not a big fan of swiss cheese.  It’s right up there with bleu cheese.  I also forgot the caraway seeds the first time I made it, but remembered it for the lunches.  If I had been thinking, I would have used my Katz Gluten-Free Wholesome Bread rather than the Katz Gluten-Free Whole Grain Bread.  The Wholesome Bread is a bit heartier and would have been more “rye-like” with the added caraway seeds.

Me, Andrea, Jennifer, Lauren-Lucille, and Heidi

Heidi has so many wonderful recipes on her site that I still need to try.  So many recipes from my blogger friends to try and not enough time!

Special thanks to Sea of Book of Yum for creating this event and hosting it this month!

6 comments

  1. Pingback: Adopt a Gluten-free Blogger July 2011 Roundup | Book of Yum

  2. Pingback: Thousand Island Dressing (Gluten-Free, Corn-Free, Dairy-Free, Soy-Free, Nut-Free, Gum-Free and Refined Sugar-Free) | Adventures of a Gluten Free Mom


Leave a Reply

