Oh My Oeufs! Go Ahead Honey, It’s Gluten-Free.

Healthy Eggs en Cocotte with Fresh Berries

I love eggs.  Most of you reading this already know that.  Give me a runny egg over my breakfast and I’m happy.  Cheese and avocado omelette?  You bet.  Gluten-free fried egg sandwich?  You bet.

Kelly at The Spunky Coconut has posted on Julia Child inspired eggs on her blog as well as old footage of Julia on the subject of eggs on Facebook.  Chaz brought home the April edition of Delicious Living magazine from the grocery, which had a little feature on eggs.  Then, I caught Maggie’s post on her blog, She Let Them Eat Cake, for this month’s Go Ahead Honey, It’s Gluten-Free event being Springtime Brunches.

The planets were in alignment.  The eggs were speaking to me.  Calling for me to do something different and inspired by what was reading.

One of the things I love when making breakfast is sautéing onions, mushrooms, and spinach, then topping it with a runny egg.  I simply did this a little different for a healthy version of ouefs en cocotte.

Traditional oeufs en cocotte are baked in small ramekins with butter and cream.  I went for a more healthy and hearty take on it.  Sure I love butter, but I limit my use of it.  Cream.  Well, real cream is a rare occurrence in my kitchen.  I wanted something that would fill the tummy and not make me (or you) feel like taking a nap afterwards.  Add a side of berries to this or any other fruit you may like or have on hand and you’ve got yourself a nutrient dense way to fuel your body for the day.

Healthy Eggs en Cocotte, serves 1

1 – 1 1/2 cups sliced mushrooms

1 shallot, sliced

1 -2 handfuls spinach leaves

grapeseed oil (or your choice of oil)

1 egg

salt

pepper

splash of marsala

parsley for garnish

Pre-heat oven to 375.  Grease a 16 ounce oven-safe dish.   In a pan on medium heat, add enough oil to swirl around and coat the bottom.  Add shallots and stir until translucent and aromatic, 1-2 minutes.  Add mushrooms and sauté for about 5 minutes.  Add a splash of marsala and give a good stir.  Add spinach and stir until all the leaves are wilted.  Season with salt and pepper.  Place the veggies in the prepared dish.  Top with the egg.  Place the dish in a pan of water (if the bottom of the dish you are using is unfinished, just place the pan of water on the rack below your dish, otherwise your dish will soak up the water through the unfinished area and crack) and set it the middle of the oven.  Bake for 20 minutes (if you use 2 eggs, bake for 25).  Let the dish cool a few minutes before serving and place on a plate to prevent burning hands or tables.  Garnish with parsley and serve with fresh fruit on the side.

6 comments

    • Amanda, I hope you check out my Favorite Foodies page for some other gf bloggers. If you follow my page on Facebook, I share a lot of recipes from other gf bloggers, too. :) Feel free to ask questions if you have them!

  1. Pingback: Go Ahead Honey, It’s Gluten-Free Brunch

  2. Pingback: Vegetarian, Gluten-Free Recipe Roundup: Hot Cross Buns in Honor of My Mom

  3. Pingback: Seasonal Sunday (05-01-11) | Real Sustenance

  4. Pingback: Chocolate Cinnamon Chia Pudding |


Leave a Reply

