Green Chai Smoothie

Green Chai Smoothie

There are a lot of smoothies being posted in the gluten-free blogosphere this month for Detox January.   There are a lot of good recipes out there so check them out when you have a chance.  I’m not in detox mode since I really had no indulging going on around the holidays.  The posts have inspired me to go beyond my usual smoothie and get a little creative.

I love chai and have been adding a touch of garam masala to my smoothies for a little bit of a kick.  So, when I decided to veer off a little I wound up doing a take on the Coconut Chai Smoothie.  It turned out light both in texture and color.  I was pleased enough to make it several times to go with my breakfast before work.

Green Chai Smoothie

mmmmmmm

1 banana

Handful of spinach

1 tablespoon raw local honey

1 teaspoon (or more) garam masala

Coconut milk (I use So Delicious Unsweetened Coconut Milk)

Add banana, spinach, honey and garam masala to your blender.  Add coconut milk – I fill my blender to the mark just below the 500ml mark, the smoothie will fit perfectly in my glasses at that mark.  Blend well, pour, and enjoy!

11 comments

    • I discovered garam masala last year and had to make it myself. Now that we’ve moved to a city with a large Indian population, we have several Indian grocers. I don’t have to make it if I don’t want to and can use it more liberally. LOL I hope you like it, Brittany!

  1. Pingback: Seasonal Sunday (02-13-11) | Real Sustenance

  2. Pingback: Grapple Juice « Hunter's Lyonesse

  3. Pingback: Chocolate Cinnamon Chia Pudding |


Leave a Reply

