Not The Same Old Leftovers

There are leftovers I could eat and eat and eat just the way they were made the first time around.  Turkey dinners.  My taco salad.  Then there are leftovers that you just need to put a different spin on them.  I explored this a bit with my Rubber Chicken post.  After having some leftovers that I changed up a bit this weekend, I wanted to explore this more.

Iris' Chickpea Tomato Sauce

Friday night, I decided to try out a recent recipe from Iris at The Daily Dietribe.  She was a guest post on the Ginger Lemon Girl for her Chickpea Tomato Sauce.  I have to admit, that when I first saw the recipe, I was hesitant.  Chickpeas in tomato sauce.  It goes back to what I’ve shared before.  My brain will block me from trying something I wouldn’t have thought of before.  However, with a bounty of tomatoes and basil from our CSA last week and remembering how well the new things I’ve been trying has gone and the need to be able to be adventurous now that I’m gluten-free and trying to stick with whole foods, I gave it try.  Besides, Iris has never disappointed with her recipes.

My sauce came out looking different from hers, but I still liked it.  I had to add more water when processing the chickpeas to get it moving around.  I also used dried chickpeas rather than canned.  I’ve found the dried chickpeas have more flavor for me.  I also used frozen spinach since I had a bunch of that and didn’t want to have to go to the grocery store just for fresh spinach.  I also had some frozen artichoke hearts, so I used those instead of marinated artichoke hearts.  For the spaghetti sauce, I used some my husband made a few weeks ago and I froze just for times like these.   I added a tad bit of salt because my husband likes things salty, but not too much because of the kalamata olives.  However, it wasn’t enough and he had to add more.  I served it over brown rice penne.

Kale, Mushroom, and Garlic Omelette with Chickpea Tomato Sauce and Fresh Basil

This morning for breakfast, I sautéed some chopped garlic, kale, and mushrooms, then made an omelette and stuffed it with the veggies.  I topped it with some of the leftover sauce and about 6 fresh basil leaves cut into a chiffonade.  Since there is protein in the chickpeas, I used 3 eggs total for my husband and myself, then cut it in half once I stuffed it.  I topped each half separately.  Much less messy that way.   I rather enjoyed it and I still have some left so it might find its way onto another omelette this week.

Chicken Enchilada Casserole

I made a whole chicken yesterday and served with roasted potatoes and roasted beets that were also from our CSA last week.  As I mentioned in the Rubber Chicken post, I made some broth as soon as I had the chicken carved up.  I found out the hazards of fixing broth overnight in the crock pot.  It makes you hungry because it smells so good.  I admit, I snacked off and on last night because of that.

Chicken Enchilada Casserole, and Red Leaf Lettuce, Pico de Gallo, and Guacamole

I meant to make chicken enchiladas from the leftovers, but while I was trying to do so, they kept unrolling on me and then the tortillas started to break.  So, I did what any sane person does that wants to keep their sanity.  I changed it up a little to make it easier.  This is a simple recipe that I got off of some public TV show years ago and I don’t even remember the name of it.  You shred cooked chicken, roll it up in corn tortillas that have been dipped in oil (I don’t dip my tortillas in oil, which is why I was having problems), lay them in a pan, cover with green enchilada sauce and cheese, then bake.

What I wound up doing was putting a layer of sprouted corn tortillas on the bottom of my greased (olive oil) dish.  I was able to lay two down, then break one in half and use that to cover the open area in the middle.  I put a layer of my leftover shredded chicken on the tortillas, then used half a 10 oz can of green enchilada sauce to coat the chicken and tortillas.  This is important or the bottom layer of tortillas will be hard, crunchy and difficult to cut through.  Place a layer of shredded cheese on the sauce.  Top that with another layer of tortillas, the rest of the green enchilada sauce, and more cheese.  I had the oven preheating to 350 while prepping this.  I tried to time it and I think it was 15 to 20 minutes.  After I got going with prepping the lettuce, pico de gallo, and guacamole, I forgot what time I put it in.  However, it was done by the time I had everything else made.

It’s been awhile since I made the enchilada casserole and I have to say, that’s another leftover I could eat again and again and again.  Good thing I have leftovers!

Leave a Reply

