OMG! Bread!

Creamy Shrimp Basil Pasta by The Daily Dietribe

Last night, I was finally able to make the Creamy Shrimp Basil Pasta I’ve been trying to make for over a week.  It was easier than it looked and I was able to do a lot of clean up while the shrimp were marinating in the sauce.  It was my first taste of brown rice pasta, too.  Like the quinoa pasta I tried over a month ago, I had to keep an eye on it to keep it from sticking.  The water was pretty milky, too.  The instructions called for boiling it for  8 minutes, mine was done at 6 minutes.  When it was time to turn the marinade into the sauce, I didn’t remove the shrimp at all since I did a quick sear when I cooked them.  I was salivating when it all came to a simmer.  The smell was amazing and I was wishing I had gluten-free bread to make garlic bread to go with it.

Chopped Romaine and Radicchio

I chopped up some romaine hearts and radicchio to add to the tomatoes and fresh basil in the sauce.  I still had some of Leanne Ely’s yummy dressing leftover from last week so I dressed my salad with that.  Olive oil, balsamic vinegar, oregano and crushed or pressed garlic.  So good and healthy.  All the leftovers from last night were packed up for my lunches at work this week and I have to tell you, the Creamy Shrimp Basil Pasta was even better today than it was last night.

This afternoon I made another attempt at gluten-free bread again.  I actually took a recipe for Buckwheat Quinoa Sandwich Bread and altered it a bit because I didn’t have buckwheat or quinoa flours and I really had no desire to get even more flour.  I substituted teff flour (a tiny grain packed with nutrients and the tradition ingredient for injera, a tasty Ethiopian flat bread) for the buckwheat, amaranth for the quinoa, and coconut flour for the almond meal.  I would have used my ground flax in place of the almond meal, but the recipe already called for it and I didn’t want to overload it with flax.

Coconut Teff Sandwich Bread

The thing about gluten-free baking is the tediousness of measuring out 5 or more different flours.  Thankfully, I was watching Star Wars (hey, it’s May the 4th) to break up the tedium. If I can find the original recipe, I will post it, but so far, I can’t find it.  When I poured the dough into the bread pan before letting it rise, I realized I forgot to add the baking powder and the salt.  Baker FAIL!  I can’t tell at all though except for the fact that the top is concave.  Yes, I’m eating a piece right now with my veggie curry.  I had to have a piece.  The smell of the coconut had me salivating while it was baking.  I had to take a shower while it was cooling just to kill time or I would have burned myself trying to get a piece.  I think this one is a keeper though.  It is definitely lighter and fluffier than my first attempt at gluten-free bread over a month ago.

I think I will try my hand at making injera later this week or next.  I do like it and now that I know it is gluten-free, it’s well worth taking a shot at it.

I posted this earlier on Facebook.  Send an email (there is a webform) at the bottom to encourage our leaders to stop the U.S.’s stance on not allowing anyone to label food as GMO or non-GMO.  I’ve said repeatedly that GMOs are toxic to our bodies and for the leaders at this Codex Conference to keep pushing that GMOs are just as safe as non-GMO is ridiculous.

I think I need more bread. :)

Update: I found the recipe!  Yay!  Here you go: Buckwheat Quinoa Sandwich Bread.

2 comments

  1. I’m glad the pasta recipe worked for you! It looks like it turned out great! I still haven’t made any gluten free bread from scratch! I tried Bob’s Red Mill bread mix tonight and it was super easy and tastes great. But I definitely want to learn to make it from scratch so I can have more control over the ingredients.

    • It was wonderful, Iris! Thank you so much for sharing the recipe on your blog. I have a recipe for a gluten-free boule that I want to try, I just need the time to do it! If it works out well, I will send it your way!


Leave a Reply

